Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Okay, maybe just the Da…ffodil.

Crafting Projects I Want To Do:
4) Guest room decorating

So I have to confess that the craft I wanted to get done today isn’t complete.  So it’s not a full ta-da!  It’s half a ta-da.  Just a da, if you will.  I plan to add the “ta” part of it, as well as a picture of the completed project.

Life gets in the way, as I’m sure you understand, but being that this is my first blog week, I wanted to be able to actually post something every day of the week for good measure.

Here we go!

I have books.  Many, many books.  I am a self-proclaimed bookworm.  I have so many books that I started to lack places with which to place those books.  So I ventured out to the local thrift shop to find a hanging shelf.   I found one pretty quickly, a plain white one with scratches.  I snatched it up with the intention of doing some sort of decoupage on it.

For my guest room, I planned on doing a daffodil motif on one wall.  It’s my favorite flower and it goes really well with the colors of the bedsheets.  So I started collecting daffodil pictures from the spring grocery store ads.  And then I remembered I had a paperstack of cardstock with daffodil pictures on it from when I bought it for my wedding scrapbook. (Daffodils were my wedding flowers.  Also, yes, finishing my wedding scrapbook is on my to-do list.)  An idea had sprouted!  🙂

2 daffodil papers and green & yellow papers: TC Cottage Garden Designer Paper, Tim Coffey for K&Company.  Bronze & cream papers:  Premium Stacks Latte Stack, DCWV.  (All papers purchased at JoAnn Fabrics)

At first, I thought I wanted to do a vintagey-looking paper collage background with different textures and ripped paper.  I looked for tutorials online but couldn’t find one that quite had the look I was going for.  So I went to the library to see if I could find something.  I ran across Magenta Style Paper Magic by Nathalie Metivier & Leslie Conron Carola and was immediately inspired by the beautiful paper crafts on the cover.  Right then and there I completely changed what I wanted the shelf to look like and decided I wanted to do a paper quilt pattern instead of the collage.  I saw the Bargello variation pieced paper frame and was immediately hooked.  Since I already loved the way my papers looked, I skipped the steps where you dip it in ink and stamp it and went straight to the cutting and piecing.  (Also, I’ve fallen deeply in love with this book.  I think I want to do every single paper project in it.)

I’m a sucker for doing “test runs” of projects with stuff I don’t care too much about so that when I used the real stuff, I would’ve already had practice.  Also, I didn’t know if I wanted to do a random piecey design or a carefully-measured out, equal-sized look that formed a “V” pattern, so I played around with both:

Different-sized, more random and piecey look (Author’s note:  the book actually shows a more random and piecey look even than this, and it actually looks really cool, but I think in the back of my mind I wanted some sort of structure for this particular project.  I think I want to do the super-random version on another project in the future.)

All papers:  Premium Stacks Latte Stack, DCWV.

More equal-sized pieces forming a “V” pattern.  (I didn’t feel like doing the whole gluing down and cutting and piecing process; I just wanted a general idea of what it would look like. Thus the gaps in between the pieces of paper.)

For good measure (and to soothe my slightly OCD-like tendencies), I wanted to do a third try and lay it out on the computer before continuing because I wanted to see what it would look like with the paper colors I actually wanted to do:

quilt pattern

When I liked what I saw, I got to work on covering the shelf:

Shelf:  thrifted!  🙂  Glue (to adhere papers to shelf):  Elmer’s Rubber Cement.  I also used Zots for extra reinforcement.  When I was done, I used a thin coating of Gloss Mod Podge to give it a nice top finish.

I’m loving the way it’s turning out so far, but I really want to cover the entire shelf.  This is also great practice for when I want to make a real sewn quilt with fabric blocks.

So…no checkmark yet.  I want to legitimately finish it, even though I guess I could technically check it off because it is contributing to my guest room decorating.  Stay tuned!  🙂  I would love your opinions and comments on what I have so far.  Do you like the color choices?  Do you have any suggestions on how to improve the project if I decide to do another one?  Do you think I made a mistake choosing the more structured design and think it would’ve looked better with the random piecey one?  Please let me know in the comments section below.

By the way, if you love how this looks and want the steps on how to make it, I will include those steps (and corresponding more detailed pictures of those steps) when I finally finish the project.  Something to look forward to, and a reason to light a fire under my butt to finish it! 😀

Random tidbit:  Daffodils are the flowers that symbolize regard, and when there are a bunch of daffodils, it symbolizes joy and happiness.  So I’ll sign out by saying this…

Wishing you the warmest regards, joy, and happiness,

2 thoughts on “Ta-Da! Tuesday: Okay, maybe just the Da…ffodil.

  1. Super cool! I love the quilted look of the rectangles–I can see that this will get worked into some art project or another. I definitely admire your determination to finish the project, although I think we all know getting started is sometimes the hardest part.
    Well done!

    1. Thank you! I’m hoping to make some greeting cards and journals (decoupaged composition notebooks) with these patterns and see if I could get them sold at a farmer’s market somewhere. First, though, I have to get a little better at it. And, of course, finish this project (which I still haven’t yet. I’m hoping to do so sometime this week). I’m really digging the quilted look, too, but I think for some of the cards & journals I want to try out the more random look just to mix it up a bit.

      You should definitely check out the book if you’re into crafting. There are some beautiful paper flowers in there that I think you’d enjoy making! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

