Posted in Written Word Wednesdays

Written Word Wednesday: Not an Intentional Cop-Out.

Dear Readers,
I really wanted to post some of my writing today, I really did.  I especially wanted to because, like I’ve mentioned before, I wanted to start out in good form for my first blogging week.  But…

Procrastinating, lazy, excuses-a-million side of me says:

Today was my dad’s birthday, and I wanted to be able to spend time with him to celebrate.  Today was a pretty amazing day of my life, and I plan to hold off on talking about it until (appropriately) Making Memories Monday, because I most-certainly made memories today!  Also, I did about 4 times as much exercise as I normally do in a day, and my body hurts and sleep calls me.

Practical, technical, bummed-out-that-I-can’t-deliver side of me says:
I forgot to take into account that I would be posting my writing to a public site.  I am very proud of this work and the time and brainwork that went into these ideas is numerous.  Therefore, I don’t feel comfortable posting my work without first protecting it from idea-stealers out there. 

Long story short, I’m going to look into how to copyright things before posting it.  Hopefully this will all get worked out by next Wednesday.

I don’t, however, want to leave you empty-handed.  So here’s a couple of written-word-like things to tide you over until next week:

For all you writers out there, I recommend checking out iwritelike.com.  It’s pretty self-explanatory in its title, I guess.  And it’s simple to use.  Copy and paste an excerpt of your writing (I suggest it be writing you think is very illustrative of your writing style), and it analyzes it and gives you an author that is similar to your writing style.

When I did it (this was about a year ago, so I’m actually curious if my writing style has changed since then), the website told me I write like Cory Doctorow.  I must admit that I’d never heard of him before then, so I decided to check out his book Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom. 

And now the confession:  I didn’t finish the book.  😦  Like all avid readers, I had a stack of at least 20 books by my bed and I kept renewing it until I ran out of renewals.  Doctorow’s since released many new books, all of which look interesting.  So I’m fully intending on giving it another try.

At first, I was surprised I was actually compared to him.  His work is science fiction in content, and as I’ve previously mentioned, I never associated my writing with science fiction (not that I have anything against science fiction, it’s just that I think I’m not very good at that genre).

On closer look, though, I see some similarities between his work and mine:  we both write eerie, near-future, undescribable world stories (where the world in our story and the real world seem ALMOST alike, but there’s something strangely off that you can’t quite put your finger on and the beautiful thing is that “strangely off” thing is used as a plot device).  We both have a great deal of irony, sarcasm, and wit to our writing tones.  To that extent, and also because he is quite a popular and best-selling author, I am honored to even have the chance to be put side by side with him.

I would love to know who you guys write like!*  If you decide to try it out, please leave a comment below.**  🙂

Also, I’d like to give a little shout-out to one of my all-time favorite authors, Jen Lancaster.  I’ve gone to two of her book signings and am planning to go to another one this year.  I also own all of her books.  All but one of her novels are hilarious memoirs, the one fiction she released is an homage to John Hughes and his movies.  Check her out.  Seriously.  Every time I read one of her books, I instantly feel better because my tummy gets a workout from laughing so freaking hard.  I love her.  And if you love any of her books, just an FYI, her new memoir’s coming out May 1st.    (Also?  Her writing started out as a blog, too, so…I sort of look to her for inspiration.  And guffaws. And entertainment.)

Happy Writing & Reading!  🙂

Violet (my super-awesome purple

handcrafted signature unavailable

 because I’m currently on a computer

 that doesn’t have that picture saved to it)

*P.S. I do really want to know who you guys write like.  I’m super-curious.  So please check out the site.
**Like, pretty pretty please with a cherry and whipped cream and sprinkles on top check it out.  And leave me a comment on who it is.  I have a strange obsession with wanting to know.

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

