Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Color Me Happy and the Definition of Fun

Crafting Projects I Want to Do:
48) Ombre Nails

&
38) Dictionary Shoes

Together, you get this!  🙂

Hi Readers!
As you may or may not have noticed, I’ve been off the radar for a little while.  For two weeks, to be exact.  It’s been a stressful and busy time for me, but I’m hoping to start posting on a more regular basis now.
A couple of days ago, after a long string of exhausting days, I decided nothing would cheer me up more than seeing some bright, pretty colors.  I love colors with an almost-obsessive passion.  I’ve probably mentioned it before, but getting me Crayola crayons can pretty much guarantee a huge grin from me.  So naturally I looked to painting my nails so that smiles could literally come from the palm of my hand (okay, fine, the nails of my hand).  Originally I wanted to paint them a nice, bright, sunshiny yellow, but then on a particularly eventful Pinterest session I ran across this link and knew right then and there that I HAD to replicate it.
I actually couldn’t find the yellow I was originally looking for (Sinful Colors “Unicorn”, if you must know.  Being that I’m obsessed with unicorns, I thought colors plus unicorn was just the epitome of cheering up-dom.  Alas, it didn’t happen.), so I opted for turquoise since I had also been itching for a bluish color, and I’m so glad I did!  (Next on my list is a rich royal blue color.)  I already had some greens, so I decided to combine those three:

Sinful Colors Professional nail polish colors from left to right:
#944 “Innocent”, #946 “Happy Ending” (save comments from peanut gallery, please), #801 “Love Nails”.

You’ll also need a triangle makeup sponge, a small bowl of water, nail polish remover, and a paintbrush or cotton swab (or you can just stick tape around the nails if you don’t want to have to deal with the nail polish remover).

I don’t actually have any pictures of the process, but I just followed the instructions on the link.

Some pointers from me:
At first when I tried this, I was disappointed that it wasn’t working because the colors weren’t transferring to my nails.  In fact, it seemed the harder I dabbed the sponge on my nails, the more the color started coming off rather than going on.  Don’t despair!  Here’s how I finally got it to work:

1) Don’t let the color soak into the sponge.  The blog author was correct when she said you have to work fast.  If you can’t see a thick line of polish sitting ABOVE the sponge, then it has soaked in too much already.  You may have to put three or four coats on just to make sure.
2) Don’t dab too hard at first.  Dab lightly and quickly (I was able to hit all five of my nails on my hand without having to reload).  That will give the second coating round something to stick to.  Then dab lightly but repetitively (I had to dab each nail about five/six times).  As mentioned in the link, don’t worry about dabbing it in the exact same spot every time.  In fact, the more you dab it in slightly different spots, the more blended the effect is.  Trust me on this one.  🙂

Have fun, and if you try it, I would love to see pictures!  😀

Here are more pictures of how mine turned out:

Rings:  My own engagement ring and wedding band.  Beaded necklace:  Handmade gift from a friend.

I’m happy to report that my nails have done a wonderful job of cheering me up these last few days.  I catch myself looking down at them when I need a little pick me up.  In fact, I may or may not have spent 20 whole minutes yesterday just staring at them in wonderment and glee immediately upon waking up.  😉
*~*~*
As for the dictionary shoes, if you know me well, you know me I love me some good words!  I’ve been wanting to post pictures of these for awhile, but aforementioned stressful and busy days left me no time to actually finish them.  Full disclosure?  I’m actually still not finished with them, but I am oh so close.  I’ll probably finish them tomorrow and update this post.  But I so desperately wanted to claim that I finished two awesome projects that I’ll just pretend they’re done.  If you could be so kind, please don’t take me out of my fake accomplished bubble just yet, okay?  🙂  Also, hubby gently asked me today how long it’s been since I crafted, and I sadly replied, “Too long.”  So he suggested I work on my dictionary shoes and I only too happily obliged, so I wanted to show something for him being so sweet to me.  So here’s a quick (I’m getting tired and running out of stamina) pictoral journal of my steps.  I’m really proud of these shoes because my husband actually remarked that they look professionally made and that I could probably make money making personalized ones for people and selling them.  It’s super duper rare that he shows a genuine interest in my crafts (he’s always supportive of them, but being a guy’s guy, it’s hard for him to get excited about frills and fluff), so that was a huge compliment to me.  Anyhow, if you want detailed instructions, the link I got it from is here.  In fact, if you’re looking to kill some time, I recommend checking out the rest of the blog.  I think it’s pretty awesome.  🙂

I have to do a special segment on the amazing dictionary that I cut the words out of.  I found it at an antique store on my birthday and my mother was kind enough to buy it for me.  Let’s take a closer look at this swoon-inducing (at least for the word-lovers and learning geeks among us) find, shall we?


(They did, for the record, also have Volume One.  It was a tough choice, but this one had more information on poetry, as you can see below, so this was the winner.)

And some entertaining pictures from the dictionary:

So Reagan was president when this book was published.  Oh, how so much has changed since then!  But now I feel old…a book published a year before I was born is at an ANTIQUES store?  I’m hardly antique-aged, thankyouverymuch.  Also, I just thought the fire hydrant dressed as a bald eagle for the Bicentennial was just too funny to not post.


Top to bottom:
1) $5 canvas shoes from Walmart.  Before you judge, I’m not usually one that frequents Walmart for personal reasons.  But I couldn’t justify buying expensive canvas shoes only to cover them up, so this was my solution.
2) My crude tracing of my shoe so I could start laying out words to see how they’d look.  (Looks a bit like Edvard Munch’s “The Scream” painting now that I look at it closer.  Completely unintentional, but cool nonetheless.)
3) Some of the words I cut out.  I was very deliberate in which words I chose, careful to pick some of my favorite things.  Notable words that made the shoe list are unicorn, purple, eight (my favorite number), Pennsylvania Dutch (while I’m not PA Dutch, I’ve been in love with the designs they use on their art for as long as I can remember), contemplate (my favorite “smart-sounding” word), and constellation (which I originally chose because I love to look at constellations in the sky, but have consequently learned it also means “a group of similar thoughts or objects”!  Yay for learning new definitions from a dictionary!).
4) The first dictionary entry Mod Podged onto the shoe.  Yay, it’s working!
5) Mod Podging more words on top.
6) A view of the shoe after the Mod Podge dries.

So there you have it, a glimpse into the world of what cheers me up.  I’m pretty easy to please.  🙂
What about you guys?  What are some things that cheer you up when you’re feeling blue?  Let me know in the comments below!

To Enjoying Your Own Version of Bliss,

2 thoughts on “Ta-Da! Tuesday: Color Me Happy and the Definition of Fun

  1. teee heee hee… happy ending. Sounds like your nails sure gave you one!

    Okay and I’m done. I do love your nails, though. So gorgeous! I don’t know if I’m brave enough to try them myself, but man they’re pretty. You did add a top coat, correct? To make sure they stay on and not chipped? Good girl…

    I love your shoes. I love love love love love your shoes. I’m curious to see how well they’ll hold up in our rainy weather. Maybe an additional weather-proofing spray after modpodge? Let me know!

  2. You should seriously try the nails. They really are easier than they look, and they dry super-fast because the sponge coating vs. regular nail polishing is a thinner layer and therefore dry faster. Um…top coat? What’s a top coat? 😉 Actually, I didn’t own a top coat and so I had to forgo one. The ironic thing is that while working on my shoes, of course Mod Podge stuck to my fingers/nails, and when I peeled it off, some of my nail polish came off with it. 😦 I’m too lazy to redo it at the moment, but I will eventually. Still looks pretty fabulous.

    I was kinda hoping the Mod Podge would make it waterproof enough (I tap on the words on the shoes and it sounds like I’m tapping on plastic), but weather-proofing spray sounds like a great idea. To be honest, I was only planning on wearing them on sunny days where there was no chance of getting them wet, but that would mean I’d really only get to wear them like one week out of the year. 😉 And I definitely want to show them off more than that!

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

