Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: $4 Date Night!

I have to confess right off the bat that this isn’t going to be the normal “Ta-Da Tuesday” post, where I show off a recently-completed craft or recipe.  That will have to wait until next week, because I think what the hubby and I pulled off today definitely deserves a Ta-Da!  🙂

As you may or may not know, we’re in the middle of purchasing a house.  (Literally.  We just had the inspection, drew up some contingencies, and are waiting for word back from the sellers about it.  So please keep your fingers crossed for us!  We’re getting close!)  As you also may or may not know, buying a house is expensive (unless, of course, you get a super-cheap house, but you get what you pay for).  Not that we really had extra money to spend before, what with me looking for a job and all, but now that we’re using the money we DO have for a down payment, credit card spending is strictly forbidden.  And we’ve been doing a really good job about that because we really love this house and want to do the least damage possible to our (extremely good on both counts!  *patting self on back*) credit scores so that we don’t accidentally shoot ourselves in the foot and not be able to afford this house.

So when my mother gave us $20 spending money because she took pity on the fact that we’ve been living on Top Ramen and mac ‘n’ cheese to make this all work, we thought long and hard about how to spend it.  We got some much-needed coffee before speaking to our real estate agent, and the hubby bought himself new razors (trust me, this was a necessary thing; his face was starting to get scratchy!).  With the leftover money, we decided to check out the $2 movie theater nearby that plays movies that are in that lovely in-between stage where it’s not in full-priced theaters anymore but haven’t been released on DVD/BluRay yet.

Now, there are three reasons for this feat being Ta-Da-worthy:
1)  I can’t remember the last time we’ve been on a date where we’ve spent money.  Not that this is extremely important to either of us, but every once in awhile, it really is nice to treat yourself.  So the fact that we were spending money on being together felt pretty incredible.

2)  We had a full-blown date for only $4!  On Tuesdays, movie tickets are only $1, and hot dogs were only $1, so

 X 2
+
 X 2
=
$4, which also illustrates
3) I had a reason to dress up, which I haven’t done in a very, very long time!  So we weren’t going to a jazz club, fancy restaurant, or musical.  I was far and away the most dressed up person in the whole laidback movie theater, but I didn’t care.  I was on my first date in months and by golly, I was going to gussy up!!!  😀

Accessory List:
Two-tone dolphin clasp bracelet:  (gifted).
Purple floral hair pins:  Charming Charlie (bought 2012).
Purple tiered earrings:  Target (bought 2011).
Purple square-stone necklace (I’m pretty sure it’s not a real stone):  (gifted).
Purple floral ring:  Pier 1 Imports (bought 2011).
Black sheer scarf/shawl:  (gifted).
Purple owl pin:  (handmade & gifted).
*If you can’t tell, purple is my favorite color.  But I also happened to love how purple looks with yellow.


Purse:  Red by Macy’s (gifted).

Top:  Worthington (bought at JCPenney 2012).
Pleated colorblock skirt:  H&M (thrifted!  such a score!)

Black & gray plaid shoes:  Madden Girl (thrifted).  These may be my most absolute favorite thing I’ve ever bought from a thrift store.  I am in love with these shoes!
3 reddish spots on back leg:  Stupid bug bites (outside, hopefully).

Out of all the movies we had to choose from, Dark Shadows seemed to be the one that we would both enjoy.  (Hubby and I have vastly different tastes in the movies we’re normally gravitated to.  He’s more sci-fi/action, I’m more rom-com/anything Pixar).  I admit, I’ve never actually seen the TV series that the movie is based on, so I watched the preview blindly and thought it would be somewhat of a dark comedy, like Edward Scissorhands (yet another Depp/Burton collaboration) or a vampire version of Encino Man (oh, Brendan Fraser, you’re such a cutie pie).  So I went in looking for a laugh.

Oh, how incredibly wrong I was!  Though there were a few laughable moments, it was much creepier and darker than I thought it was going to be.

Me & the hubby acting out some of the scary parts of the movie.  We’re much, much less scary!!!
*Spoiler Alert!!!  Spoiler Alert!!!*
I’m quite the scaredy-cat to begin with, so seeing a ghostly figure fall from a chandelier over and over again screaming “Help Me” and watching paintings bleed, among other creepy scenes, gave me the serious heebie-jeebies.  It’ll definitely be hard to get to sleep tonight.  I’m watching copious amounts of Gilmore Girls to try and keep my mind off of it.  (*Side note:  Oh my gosh!  Seriously, AS SOON AS I WROTE THIS, a scene appeared on Gilmore Girls where Sookie is mentioning a TV episode of Dark Shadows.  I swear I didn’t plan that.  At all.  In fact, I completely forgot that Dark Shadows was even ever mentioned in this show.  Shocker, I know.)

Anyhow, it was an alright movie (I’d probably give it a 7 out of 10), just not what I thought it was going to be.  But all in all, it was great to be able to spend a night with the hubby.  🙂

Do you have any great money-saving stories that you’re proud of?  Seen any good movies lately?  (We plan to see Hunger Games next when that comes to the theater.  I know, I know.  We just might be the only people in the U.S. who haven’t seen it yet[see strapped for money, above], but we’re quite excited about it.)  Am I weird for thinking Brendan Fraser is cute?  😉

Sweet Dreams (for both you and me)!!!

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

