Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Look! A Post!

Hey Everyone!

I feel bad because I feel as I’ve been abandoning this blog.  Fear not, though.  I haven’t forgotten about it.  Rather, I’ve been busy setting up my new blog, Celebrity Fashion Fiction.  That makes my shorter-than-normal posts that I’ve been doing lately pretty nonexistent.  Still lots on my mind, if you’re asking.  At the same time, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m finding it easier to post on a more regular basis if they’re shorter.  We’ll see if it’s a trend that continues.  I highly doubt it.  I’m thinking it’ll come back around to the lengthy posts come fall time.

That being said (I swear, I’ve been saying that phrase a lot lately, to the point where I could almost play a drinking game to it), this post is going to be another short one.  On top of that, I don’t really have pictures of a craft, recipe, or interior project that I’ve finished.  I simply don’t have anything of substance done.

My ta-da! moment for this Tuesday is something a little different.  It has to do with the general maintenance of my blog, and also of my soul.  The “laughing” part of what this whole blog was set up for.

When I started blogging, I came out like a spitfire, churning out posts every single day, a determined fuel powering my fingertips on the keyboard.  That quickly simmered down as I realized that life still had to be lived.  So came the less-frequent, shorter posts.  Then one interest started to blossom into a big idea, so came my second blog.  I’ve been learning a lot about blogging in these almost 5 months.  The most important thing so far is to reach out to the rest of the blogging community, to find common interests, ideals, and goals.  I’ve only recently started doing that in maybe the last month or so, when I participated in my first link up.  Right then and there, doing something so liberating and being able to share it with other people, I realized what I’ve been missing out on:  social (albeit online) connections.  I really think that’s a huge part of being a blogger.  What’s the point of blogging if no one reads it?  You might as well just keep a personal diary.  Blogging, in my opinion, is a platform in which you share your life, through whichever venue/hobby you see fit.

In the middle of all this blogging discovery, I started reading a book I’ve had on my list for a little while:  “MWF Seeking BFF:  My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend” by Rachel Bertsche.  She started talking about the community that blogging provides, and how important it is to actively seek out blogs that you’re interested in and comment on them.  So I started doing that these last few days, and it’s felt great.  I’ve found a lot of great new blogs to follow (which I’ll probably provide you with a list of tomorrow…along with…hopefully…some new writing from me!).

Meanwhile, I’ll present you with my ta-da! for the day: a link up that I found at Bella on the Beach (originally from alltheweigh.com).  While I’ve mentioned that, show Bella some love!  She’s on an amazing journey and I’m completely in awe of what she’s doing.  That, and she happens to like a lot of the same things that I do, so if you like my blog, I think you’ll like hers, too.  🙂  (Okay, I’m sorry, I couldn’t hold back that emoticon.)  It’s a link up part of a “Friend Making Monday” series, and I love that idea; the idea of getting to know strangers a little better.  I’m hoping you guys will do this survey, too, and make this blogosphere a little bit smaller.  (And if you do, make sure to link it on Kenlie’s page!)

A Little More Personal

1. Are you a morning person?  Not at the moment, but if I go to sleep early enough every day, I could become a very chipper morning person.  Like when I go camping, I’m usually the first one up.  I like having extra time in the day to write, read, and/or sip tea/coffee leisurely.

2. Are you an introvert or an extrovert?  I’m an introvert who longs to be an extrovert.  Does that make sense?

3. Are you addicted to anything? If so, what?  I’m unequivocally, without argument, addicted to chapstick.  I have a stick anywhere I could possibly put one:  in my purse, makeup bag, a couple in bathroom drawers, glove compartment…

4. How many times have you been in love? Only once.  It’s such an all-encompassing feeling that knocks you off your feet.  There’s nothing like it.

5. What is your position on politics?  I hate politics.  It’s such a divisive thing and I don’t like talking about it.  Frankly, it either bores me to tears or makes me roll my eyes.  If you’re asking what my political affiliation is, I don’t have one.  I don’t associate myself to either party; I have ethics/beliefs that draw from both major parties.

6. Are you religious?  If you want the long, drawn-out answer to this, feel free to check out my blog post on the subject.  But for the purposes of this survey, I’ll suffice it to say that I define myself as a rebel Catholic.

7. Would you prefer backpacking or a luxury hotel?  I don’t know why I’m ashamed to admit this, but I would actually prefer a luxury hotel, hands down.  I like to pretend that I’m rough and tumble and can take a backpacking adventure, but really, I’m a baby when it comes to that kind of thing.  But I’m not too proud to avoid camping.  That’s fun.

8. Do you have/want pets?  I love my Dexter doggie!  😀

9. Are you a sports fan?  Not so much.  I’ll go to a live game, but I don’t go out of my way to watch it on TV or anything.  I’ll watch the Super Bowl more for the commercials and halftime show instead of the game itself.

10. How often do you brush your teeth?  2-3 times a day.

11. Do you have tattoos and/or piercings?  One in each ear, but I want a tattoo.

12. What’s your favorite clothing brand?  I’m not sure.  I can tell you with almost complete certainty, though, that the brand I own the most of is a.n.a. from JCPenney.  Only because they have cute clothes that fit me well.  But I don’t know if I would call it my favorite.  I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

13. Should a man open doors for a woman? Absolutely, but by the same token, people should have the manners to hold open doors for other people, no matter their sex.

14. Which season is your favorite?  Winter, hands down.  I love snow and the holidays and snowboarding opportunities and snuggling in warm blankets and hot drinks.  I tend to get cranky in the summer.  I know, I’m weird.

15. Would you rather eat less or workout more?  Hm, probably eat less.  I hate working out.  I love food, too, but I’d much rather give up some food than go and workout.

16. What’s your idea of romance?  Small, simple, thoughtful gestures that are unique to your particular relationship.  Cheesiness makes me gag because it seems so manufactured.

17. How often do you do things that are outside of your comfort zone?  Not as often as I should.  I’d say maybe once every other month.  I’d like to up that to about once a week.  You only live once, right?

18. Christmas or Halloween?  Christmas all the way.  I’m one of those crazy people who listen to Christmas all year round.  I love decorating and shopping and seeing family and friends.  I’ve worked in retail for over eleven years and it still hasn’t made me jaded over the holidays, so that’s saying quite a lot.

19. Would you rather live in the country or the city?  Country.  I’ve never been a city girl.  I don’t like the crowds and the crime and the traffic that comes with it.  Not to mention I get lost easily.  I like open spaces and fields and room to grow and cute country cottage charm.

20. Share your life philosophy.  That’s a great question!  I guess to sum it up, it would be to stay positive and have faith in humanity.  If you don’t have those two things, I’d imagine you’d have a pretty difficult time enjoying life.

To Finding Connections in a Seemingly-Big World,

2 thoughts on “Ta-Da! Tuesday: Look! A Post!

  1. Thank you for the mention on your blog, and also for your really kind comments on mine.
    You’re right, we are a lot alike. I love the term “rebel Catholic,” and could Dexter be any cuter – great name and a beautiful dog!

    1. Aw, thank you! We adopted him from the pound and that was the name he came with. Since we got him when he was a year old, we figured changing the name would just confuse him. Oftentimes we get the question, “Is he named after Dexter’s Lab” or “Like that serial killer Dexter?” and most of the times we just answer, “Nope, Dexter like our dog.” 🙂

      I think a lot of people are becoming “rebel Catholics”. Honestly, I just think it perfectly describes Catholics (though I think it could apply to any religion/denomination you choose…one could also be a rebel Baptist, for example) that have forward, modern-day thinking that may be a little different than the traditional thoughts of the church they follow.

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

