Posted in Making Memories Mondays

Making Memories (and friends!) Mondays: Finally Checking Off Something on My Bucket List!

I’m back!  And hopefully on a more consistent basis.  I figure I no longer have moving into a house as an excuse anymore, so now I have to be accountable for myself.  Though I do still have a fair bit of unpacking to do, life is no longer so crazy that I don’t even have time to think.  Which is perfect for me, because National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo to those in the know) is coming up, and I need to get back in the habit of writing every day.  To be completely honest, I need to get back in the habit of writing every day anyway, NaNoWriMo or not.  I am a writer at heart (I got the double major in literary studies and creative writing to prove it!), and every self-respecting writer knows that you should write every day not just because it’s good discipline and practice, but because it’s a release; it’s therapeutic.  I always feel like a big piece of me is missing when I haven’t written for a long time, and it’s no different this time around.  So long story short, I feel like I’ve just taken a big ol’ swig of clean air now that I’m writing again.  I hope to keep it up.

And what better way to reintroduce myself to my readers and this blog than an epic checkmark off my Things To Do Before I Die list?  So without further adieu (ado?  I feel I should know this by now.  Something to look up, I ‘spose.):
23) Be a part of a flash mob!

That’s right.  I (not-so-convincingly) blended in with a crowd before spontaneously bursting into a dance routine with about 80 other people.  I actually accomplished this over a month ago, but I only now have had the time to blog about it.  Let me tell you, it was SUCH a rush and so completely worth it!  I remember having huge butterflies in my stomach during rehearsal, and I also remember having the hugest smile on my face as I finally went out and did it.  It was such a short routine, but man, was it a workout!  Add that to doing the routine full-on and in hot, sunny weather, and I was exhausted but ecstatic when it was over.  It is a memory I will cherish for a very long time.  Here are some pictures from the event*.  Please excuse the horrible, non-professional blurring out of faces that I did.  I don’t have permission to post their faces publicly, so I don’t want to overstep any privacy boundaries.  I also blurred out other defining details of exactly where this Flash Mob took place because I am still uncomfortable disclosing my approximate whereabouts.

*Special thanks to Marci for being my partner in crime and for taking these pictures!  I had a wonderful time with her and was glad she was able to capture such an amazing moment in my life.  Her blog is pretty cool, too.  You should check it out.  🙂

About a month ago, I started doing Friend Making Mondays surveys, and I’m quite behind, so I’ll do two of them here.  I won’t force you to read them unless you’re truly interested, and if you do happen to make it through both of them, I applaud you (and will somehow figure out how to give you a big, shiny gold star).  Enjoy!  🙂


If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

FMM: Quick and Random

1. Choose three songs that would be on the soundtrack of your life.  “Take Me As I Am” by Sugarland, “Grown-Up Christmas List” by Amy Grant (because I’m one of those weird people who love Christmas all year round and I love the message on this one), and the Smurfs theme song (long story).

2. Share the details of one project that you’re currently working on.

Since my hubby and I just moved into our first (and, if all goes well, only) home, my biggest project is unpacking and decorating.  This is the first time I’m able to have complete creative control and it’s challenging but fun at the same time.  Right now I’m planning on decoupaging the back of my reading room bookshelves to match the colors that are currently in there.  We’ll see how that goes. And this weekend we’re going to build a window seat.  So excited!

3. If you could learn to do one thing overnight what would it be? How to get hired at my dream job.

4. If you could be a fictional character which one would you be?  It seems as if all my favorite fictional characters, whether from book or film/TV, have some sort of tragic or stressful event that they’ve gone through.  There aren’t many that I would wish for my own life, so that’s a hard question.  Either Harriet Welsch from Harriet the Spy or Lorelei Gilmore from Gilmore Girls.

5. What’s your favorite thing about the month of October?   There isn’t just one thing that I can choose.  I’d have to say boots, the gorgeous fall colors on the trees, and pumpkin pie.

6. Share one TV show that you’re embarrassed to admit you watch.  There are so many reality TV shows I’m embarassed to admit I watch.  Perhaps most of all would be The Bachelor/Bachelorette.

7. Name one friend that you’re thankful to have in your life today.  This is going to sound cliche, but trust me, for me, it’s not:  I’m thankful for my husband.  I don’t acknowledge him for being a good friend enough, and especially throughout the last few months, I’m so thankful to have him support me through some rough spots and loving me through me being awesome, but especially through me being grouchy and grumpy and mopey and stressed and sometimes just being silly old me (not everyone understands that sometimes, no matter how old you are, it’s important to be silly and act like a kid…those who don’t understand that, I feel immensely sorry for).  He is a wonderful friend in every sense of the word, and I am so very thankful to have him in my life, even though sometimes I’m sure he doesn’t feel like I am.

8. What was the most relaxing part of your weekend?  This weekend we had our housewarming party, and I played hostess like I always do.  I love it because it’s a part of my nature to be a people-pleaser, but it is a lot of hard work!  So I have to say it was when I finished cooking and prepping and was able to kick back, relax, and chat with friends.

9. Do you like to dance?  LOVE it!  There’s something so fun and silly and energizing about it.  (Says the person who had a Flash Mob on her list, so this is kind of a “no duh” answer.)

10.  Share one thing that you’re looking forward to before the end of the year.  I’m so excited for the Christmas season to come around and to decorate for the holidays.  It’ll be the first Christmas in my very own home and I can’t wait to hang out on my window seat and gaze up at the twinkling lights on the tree.

FMM: Inside My Home

1. Do you live in an apartment/condo, townhouse or house? Just moved into my first (and, if all goes well, ONLY) house, and I’m absolutely in love with it.
2. What is your home’s coolest feature?  There are a lot of cool things about it, like the fact that it has a tankless water heater and high tech oven & dishwasher, bay windows, and a HUGE park-like backyard.  But I’m a simple creature and I have to say the coolest feature is that a good majority of it (walls and carpet) is purple, which is my favorite color.  I realize it’s not a major thing, and it’s something that I could have done myself to any other house, but the fact that it was already done is AWESOME.  All of my friends and family have commented on how I got my purple house.  🙂  I also love the vaulted ceilings. I don’t think I would’ve fallen so much in love with the house if it didn’t have them.
3. Do you enjoy DIY projects? If so, what are you working on now? I enjoy it but must admit I’m not very good at it.  I’m more of a crafting/creative food display person rather than a home improvement project person.  BUT!!!  I am very proud to say that I contributed in large part to the building of a window seat in my house (which I will go into much more detail of in tomorrow’s Ta-Da! Tuesday post)!  Next on my list is to redo the back panels of my bookcases in my reading room to match the walls.  Instead of painting them I’m going to attempt Mod Podgeing scrapbook paper in various colors and textures on it.  We’ll see how that goes.
4. When using the dishwasher do you use powder detergent or liquid?  Whichever happens to be cheaper.  Right now it’s liquid.  🙂
5. Do you have a TV in your bedroom? No; I make it a rule to not have a TV in my bedroom.  Like Bella, though, I’ll bring a laptop into the room if I’m desperate.  But it’s not often.
6. Is your range gas or electric? Electric.
7. How often do you sweep/mop/vacuum? I feel like since the move I’ve been sweeping every single day.  But realistically I usually sweep about twice a week.  This is the first time that I’ve ever had more wood/tile than carpet, so it’ll take a bit of getting used to Pledging more than vacuuming.
8. What is your favorite place to shop for home furniture and accents? I’ve recently taken a liking to antique stores.  I’ve gotten quite a few things from my local one lately, like a cute end table and my now-treasured purple-framed calligraphied Velveteen Rabbit quote.  I love how most everything you get from there is unique and has a story behind it.  I’m also loving the stuff at Target lately (though I haven’t bought anything from there yet, admittedly), and shop at IKEA for furniture basics.
9. Do you decorate for holidays? This is the first year I’ve actually decorated for Halloween, and I loved it.  But I always, ALWAYS decorate for Christmas.  It’s one of the best parts of the year for me and has such great memories attached for me. It’s relaxing and fun and exciting all at the same time.
10. If you could have HGTV come in and redo one room in your home which room would you choose? Ooooh, cool question!  Hm, well, I love my house, but the one thing that bugs me the most about it from a decorating perspective is the kitchen.  The cabinets are painted standard-issue ugly white and are stained on the undersides beyond repair.  They also have ugly, mismatched shelf liners that I just want to rip off but it just reveals ugly, sticky, scratched, fake wood.  Then the floor is stick-on linoleum and whoever put it in didn’t cut it correctly so a part of the foundation shows under the sink.  That, and it has a weird pattern with a horrible muted teal color on it.  The backsplash is that same horrible muted teal color that completely clashes with my black, brown, and olive green bamboo motif that I have.  So that is basically a long-winded way of saying I’d have them redo my kitchen.  🙂  Probably with nice wood cabinets (with no shelf liners!), subway tile flooring, and a green backsplash.
Happy Monday Everyone, And Here’s To Making Comebacks!
One thought on “Making Memories (and friends!) Mondays: Finally Checking Off Something on My Bucket List!

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

