Posted in Fashion Fridays

Fashion Friday: Finding My Style

I interrupt my regular clothing inventory to bring you a very exciting discovery!  🙂

My husband has always told me that I have a very specific style.  Violet-casual, he calls it, and I pride myself on the fact that he notes that he doesn’t know anyone else with my particular style.  A few years back, back before I knew anything about the notion of fashion blogging, a coworker and I chatted about trying to define our sense of style now that we were in our late-20s (well, back then…now I’ve entered Dirty 30 territory, so it may be time to redefine my style again…but I digress).  We discussed that we weren’t fashionable at all when we were in school: she was known as “cardigan & twin-set” girl, I was consistently made fun of for not really embracing the concept of jeans until I was in college (before then, I was leggings & corduroys all the way!  Oh, how the tides have turned!  Gotta love how fashion recycles itself).

Since I never really went with the crowd, barring a few experiments with trends that I thought would look good on me (for example, right now I’m totally digging hunter green, cobalt blue, and houndstooth print), I always bemoaned  my clothes-shopping experiences, never finding anything that was quite “me”.  Everything I saw was either too young or too old for me, too bright or too boring.  So (fortunately for my wallet, unfortunate for the clothing-experimenter in me) there was a period where I had to make do with what I had.  You can only mix and match so much, though, before you crave something different.

Imagine my excitement and surprise, then, when I got in one of those “or current resident” magazines in the mail after we moved.  I didn’t really think anything of it and nonchalantly browsed through it.  I was actually pretty stoked that the previous resident was plus-sized like me, judging from the fact that the magazine was specifically labeled “sizes 10-28” on the cover (honestly, 10 is NOT plus-sized to me, but we’ll get into those semantics some other time).  Oh, but THEN!  Then I saw some brilliant outfits that reflected my own personal style, and it made me positively giddy!  Here are photos of the ones I loved the most:

(From SimplyBe, a plus-sized British & European Fashion magazine.  Check them out at simplybe.com if you love the clothes as much as I do!)


Cozy, cute, and comfy at its finest!  Though I haven’t really latched onto the owl trend like many fashionistas have (I don’t have anything against them, they’re just not something I’m obsessed with.  I’m more partial to unicorns), I do love the owl shirt pictured here, especially when paired with the burgundy leggings, boots, and coat).  Love, love, LOVE the reindeer sweater that has echoes of Fair Isle and also the combinations of navy blue and burgundy all throughout this page.

Looks so effortlessly put-together and fashionable, yet approachable.  Would probably fall on my face with those heels, though.

Love the polka dots & lace.  Though I’m not usually a big fan of bows of any kind, I think I dig the red bow tunic.  It’s quirky yet classy at the same time.

A great sophisticated dressy look.

I love the top two for casual work looks, but I especially love (read: I really really really want them!) the bottom two.  First, who couldn’t love those heart-shaped elbow patches on that gray cardigan?  Second, I’ve always loved blue and black together, and that silver heart necklace really makes it (for those who can’t tell, I love hearts in fashion.  LOVE).

Rockin’ the blue power suit like a BOSS.  Though I’d probably do different shoes.  Sensible pumps, maybe.  And I love how the colorblocking on the dress slims & gives shape.

This is perhaps my very favorite look that I found.  That dress is a gorgeous color that I would wear in a heartbeat, and I love the combination of the cobalt blue accessories, especially the feather earrings.  It’s flirty and quirky and edgy all at the same time, yet this look still stays feminine and subdued.

Never mind that it’s labeled “Winter Wonderland”, which, if you know me, anything winter-themed is a plus in and of itself.  What I love about this outfit and makes it so that I would wear it in a heartbeat is the flawless combination of hard and soft details, mixing the black spiky motorcycle jacket with the pleated blush-colored dress.  I’m a big fan of toughening up soft looks so it doesn’t look overly girly.

Confession?  I’m actually not a huge fan of LBDs (Little Black Dresses for those who don’t know).  I do have one, but it has to be PERFECT, and I much prefer color to black.  That being said, this would make a really cute LBD for cocktail and holiday parties.

Even though I’m not a fan of bows or pink, the one girly thing I do indulge in is sparkle.  That charcoal grey tunic is just perfect.  And the headband in that second picture totally completes the outfit.

It’s not so much the dress I want, though it’s cute.  It’s those star tights.  Want.  Now.

I love the combination of dark red and light grey for fall, and the cable knit just looks so comfy!  I love this look and plan to make it my go-to for fall.  First, though, I actually need some dark red tights.

Another cute and comfy outfit that I want to make a fall staple.

Okay, so if you don’t love this coat as much as I do, then I know for sure that we have completely differing fashion styles.  And that’s okay, but really.  This jacket is the most freaking adorable jacket I’ve ever seen.  It combines so many of my favorite things:  shearling, comfiness, warmth, bright colors, buttons, hearts, and music.  I mean, all it needs is a unicorn.  Love.

I love a good blazer.  I feel it instantly makes an outfit more sophisticated, which is important for me when I’m a 30-year-old who still looks like a teenager.  I feel as if this blazer is a classic that I’d have for years to come.

Every single one of these items of clothing caters to my inner country girl.  I love it all, but not quite sure if I’d be brave enough to wear anything except the grey Fair Isle sweater.  It does, however, totally fit the style I’m thinking of for the main character in the novel I’m writing for National Novel Writing month.  She’s a Georgia transplant who decided to move to the Portland, Oregon area to escape the small-town southern life.  Don’t these clothes totally fit that?  Or is that just me?

Love everything on this page, but especially…

This dress, with the perfect colors for fall, and

These super-comfy yet sophisticated-looking sweaters.  I think that color blue would look beautiful on me.

And there you have it, the many fashion stylings of Violet, from casual to work to dressy and everything in between.

What do you guys think?  Do you love it as much as me?  Are you surprised by any of these looks and the fact that I love them?  What are some of your favorite clothing websites/magazines that people may not know much about?  (By the way, SimplyBe?  You can send the commission check to me anytime you wish.  You’re welcome.)

To Finding Your Own Defining Style,

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

