Posted in Spiritual Sundays

Spiritual Sunday: A Quick Note About the Election

I am seriously so ready for campaign season to be over.  Is anyone else with me?  As I commented recently on a friend’s status update about unfriending someone who had become too hostile about those who disagreed with him,
“It’s one thing to be supportive of your candidate; it’s another to be hostile or disrespectful to anyone who disagrees with you…What frustrates me so much about the campaign season is people tend to forget that at the end of the day, we are all not only Americans, but HUMAN.  As such, that’s how we should treat each other.”
Suffice it to say I have low-to-zero tolerance for people who are mean, rude, or violent to others just because they have an opposing viewpoint.  It’s not necessary, and quite frankly, in many cases it can be defined as hatred, prejudice, bigotry, or all of the above.

There is a point to the above soapbox, and I promise I’m getting to it.

I think the most poignant part of this campaign season for me was listening to one especially interesting part of the vice presidential debate.  For some reason I never picked up the fact that both Joe Biden & Paul Ryan are both practicing Catholics.  It doesn’t really matter the religion they are.  For all I care, they could both be practicing Jews.  The great thing I took away from this (other than the fact that both were infinitely more respectful both towards each other and the moderator than the presidential candidates were…ugh…migraine medicine was considered after those) was that our country is so great in our diversity that two people in the same religion could have such differing viewpoints that one is considered Republican and the other Democrat.  Yet they are united in a Catholic faith, and as I mentioned above, in being Americans, and in being HUMAN.  There is something beautiful about that.

When you all in the U.S. (and even the world, for that matter) check out the election results tomorrow, I urge you to remember to be kind to one another, no matter the outcome.  Hostility and violence towards each other shows weakness, and that is the last thing we want to portray.  We are the UNITED States of America, and I hope that we continue to act that way as a country.

In Hopes of a Peaceful End to the Campaign Season,

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Sunday: A Quick Note About the Election

  1. It’s the local elections that seem to really bring out the mudslinging, at least around here in Chicago-land. I like your sentiments about trying to focus on what’s the same. Personally, I enjoy hearing why people believe in their viewpoints especially when they differ from my own. It helps me understand the world better. It makes me sad when people are unable to understand that disagreeing with someone doesn’t mean attacking. If we all thought the same, there would be no way to grow.

  2. Wow, I have no idea how I didn’t see this comment until now, but I would like to thank you for reading my blog. Welcome! 🙂

    I’m sure Chicago must’ve been an interesting place to be during the last two elections. I can’t even imagine.

    I agree with you wholeheartedly that hearing opposing viewpoints is a way to help understand the world better. As you said, if we were all the same, there would be no way to grow (and how boring would that be?).

    Hope you enjoy your week!

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

