Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Having a Ball(oon)!

Some people are slow learners when it comes to certain things.  With me, it’s with learning how to use a GPS (a funny story for another time, but I neither own–nor do I ever plan on owning, if I want to increase the odds of me not getting horrifically injured–a GPS), using power tools, and walking in heels without doing a face plant or looking like a newborn giraffe.  Now that I think of it, I think I’m just slow when it comes to being non-klutzy.

I finally learned how to blow a bubble with bubblegum when I was about 16 years old.  Subsequently, I learned how to snap gum when I was about 20.  Luckily for classmates, I didn’t make a habit of having gum in my mouth during class.  Otherwise, I would’ve been that girl who annoyed everyone with the noises that gum makes.

Ahem.  I’m off-topic, aren’t I?

Well, speaking of blowing things (eh?  Eh?  How’s that for a segue?), that’s one of the other things I never quite got around to: figuring out how to blow up a balloon.  I’d get the little bubble at the end filled, then I’d huff and puff and almost pass out, with no progress to show for it.

When I got my NaNoWriMo goody bag from a write-in, I was elated to get fun little things:  a pen and notepad, which made sense, and cocoa, tea, and candy, which also made sense.

And then came the wild card:  a turquoise party balloon.  “What’s this for?  What does it have to do with writing 50,000 words in 30 days?”  I wondered.  I pondered this for a bit before I realized:  It’s for celebration.  It’s for the “Thank Goodness It’s Over” party, or even to celebrate the fact that you’re taking on such a feat.

So I put the balloon in my mouth and tried as hard as I could to get that thing blown up.  For the first five minutes, it was much like every other time I tried in vain in my 30 years.  But my husband coached me to stretch out the balloon (which I’ve also done before, but to no avail) and keep blowing, and lo and behold:

Make fun of me if you will, but this is a big deal, y’all.  A HUGE accomplishment for me.  So huge, in fact, that I took the air out of it and kept it in my goody bag to be blown up again at the end of NaNoWriMo.  I’m hoping to be two-for-two.  🙂

And now, speaking of NaNoWriMo, I’m off to add to my word count so I can have something significant to show for Written Word Wednesday.  Stay tuned!

To Celebration, Accomplishments, and Pretty-Colored Balloons!  🙂

One thought on “Ta-Da! Tuesday: Having a Ball(oon)!

  1. Such an accomplishment–good job! Blowing balloons is hard work. And keep it up with that word count! You can add a widget to your blog sidebar to show off your progress, you know 🙂

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

