Posted in Fashion Fridays

Fashion Friday: Oh, To Be Young Again!

I’m putting off my clothing inventory for another week, to bring you what I think is SO UNFAIR.

Okay, not really, but kinda.  My mom and I visited a Target not too long ago, just to browse (and I think it was when I picked up Taylor Swift’s new CD, Red.  Yep, guilty pleasure.  Don’t judge.)  We did an obligatory walkthrough of the womens’ section, but I didn’t really find much to be interested in.  As we were leaving, though, I caught a glimpse of something in the girls’ clothing section:

If you don’t know by now, I have an intense love of and obsession with unicorns and stars and glittery things.  So when I saw this, I just about darn near passed out from how much I loved it.  The thing I love the most is that it isn’t overly childish or girly (in my opinion), compared to the cartoony My Little Pony-like unicorns you see nowadays (though I not-so-secretly love those unicorns, too.  What can I say?  I’m equal-unicornity).  And it saddened and embarassed me at the same time that I wanted this shirt so badly but they didn’t make it in grown-up sizes.

After getting over the initial squeals over this shirt, I saw other pieces of clothing that I would love to possess, if only they weren’t made for 4-to-10-year-olds:

A cute silver-grey shrug that has just the right amount of sparkle to keep it interesting,

An adorable star-printed sweater that continued the print up to the sleeves and had a cute crystal-button detail on the collar,

Sparkly sweater dresses in black and white,

Jeans with a heart print,

And a beanie with stars.

That doesn’t even scratch the surface, guys.  I would’ve easily taken pictures of about 90% of the entire girls’ department, but 1) people in the store were starting to give me weird stares and 2) you probably don’t want to see all those clothes.  Because there were a LOT that I loved.

Then I started to feel a little insecure.  Did that mean that my fashion choices are that of an elementary school-aged girl?  I pride myself as having a style that’s sophisticated, not seven-year-old.  And when I add “quirk” to my style definition (sophisiticated and colorful with a little bit of quirk is my mantra when getting dressed), I never meant for “quirk” to equal “touches of pre-pubescence”.  I don’t want to walk around wearing, and being giddy about, the same clothing that a person up to 25 years my junior would be psyched to wear.

Is it just me that wants a grown-up version of those clothes?  Or is it that fashion designers are starting to design kids’ clothing in a way that they feel more grown-up?  I hope the latter is true.  Let me know what you all think.  🙂

Looking for the Fountain of Youth So I Won’t Seem So Silly Wearing Those Clothes,

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

