Posted in Making Memories Mondays

Making Memories Mondays: The Completely Substituting 10 Questions for Pictures Edition

You read it right.  For some reason I was not able to find anything this week that was on my November Pictures to Take Throughout the Year list.  Though I have to say the thing I looked the hardest for were the geese flying south.  I took many outdoor walks with my dear doggie and trusty camera and can’t begin to count the times I’ve almost tripped due to the fact that I was looking up at the sky for geese rather than the ground.  Still no luck.  I’m thinking maybe I should drive down to the lake a few miles away where I normally see lots of geese and see if they take off flying.  And if they’re still there, then my consolation picture will be a flock of geese in the water, and that’s not so bad, now is it?

Oh, but next Monday!  Prepare to be wowed by the awesomeness that will be the bulk of my November pictures.  I can’t wait.  😀

Ahem.  Until then, though, I submit my answers for this week’s Friend Making Monday:

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: alltheweigh so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Thanksgiving Edition

1. Do you have any Thanksgiving traditions?  If so, please share them. I would say in the last 15 years or so, since my side of the family is Filipino, we decide to do “American” Thanksgiving with the traditional American feast food, which isn’t such an out-of-the-ordinary thing, but then when Christmas comes around, ham and turkey go out the window, replaced by traditional Filipino Christmas food.  It’s also a tradition for my little brother to prep and season the turkey and all the kids to mash the potatoes.  And we have a sort of unsaid tradition that we came up with in the last ten years or so that we try to come up with the silliest prayer ever (all the kids hate saying grace because it’s so much pressure!!!).

2. List at least three dishes that are on your family’s table every year. Rice (duh), collard greens, and mashed potatoes.

3. Do you prefer pumpkin pie or pecan pie?  I like pecan pie more, but I’m always outvoted by my family who prefers pumpkin.

4. Will you watch football on Thanksgiving Day? I am not a sports girl at all, but my older brother is totally a jock and sports fan, so he’ll be watching it.  I’m sure I’ll catch a little bit through him.

5. Do you plan to exercise Thursday? I will be on my feet cooking and entertaining.  That’s exercise, is it not?

6. Do you prefer ham or turkey?  Ham all the way!  Though we will have both on our table.

7. Will you shop on Black Friday?  If so, where will you go first?  Seeing as I’ve worked retail on Black Friday for ten years, the answer is an imperative OH HECK NO.  I’m going to try to get the bulk of my Christmas shopping done before Thanksgiving (which will probably not happen, but I like the challenge).  I am, however, thinking of participating in my first Small Business Saturday.  Then for family and friends who brave the Black Friday craziness, I am throwing my third annual Black Friday dinner and Christmas decorating party to help bring some calm.  🙂

8. Do you take a nap on Thanksgiving? I always have so much adrenaline pumping through me on Thanksgiving that it’s impossible to sleep.  In fact I’m pretty sure I’ll be up at like 6 am and not sleep until at least midnight.

9. Share one dish that probably won’t be on anyone else’s table. My special cornbread recipe, that I don’t give out to anyone besides my family.  So if anyone else has my cornbread recipe on their table, someone’s got some ‘splainin’ to do for spilling the secret.  😉

10. What are you thankful for today?  I’m thankful for Christmas music on the radio and a cup of coffee in my hand.  It has been a very stressful and tiring weekend (my hubby and I built a French drain all by ourselves–including digging the trench around the house and transferring numerous heavy buckets of gravel) and taking the time to take a breather and not killing my body is a welcome reprieve.  Though I’m sure that will all be washed away when I go Thanksgiving shopping with my mother today.  Then I will be thankful for the extraordinary amount of patience God has blessed me with.  😀

Wishing You All a Wonderful Thanksgiving With Plenty to be Thankful For!

6 thoughts on “Making Memories Mondays: The Completely Substituting 10 Questions for Pictures Edition

  1. Here from FMM, I agree wholeheartedly on Black Friday shopping; thankfully it’s not an issue here (Denmark) as Thanksgiving isn’t a national holiday. Still, it gets crazy out there on Black Friday, doesn’t it?

    1. Welcome, Ais, and thank you for checking out my blog! 🙂 You’re so very lucky that you don’t have to deal with Black Friday. I feel like it’s uniquely a U.S. problem because I don’t hear about it anywhere else. I almost want to look up the history of Black Friday now, because I don’t remember it being such a big deal when I was a kid. Then again, I spent my childhood in Germany, so that could be why. 🙂

      Hearing about the violence that happens on Black Friday just makes me sick; it goes against everything the holiday season is supposed to stand for. I remember once when I worked at a place where a bomb threat was called in at the store across the street. The customers who were at that store evacuated to my store, and they were angry and upset that they couldn’t get to their presents. I questioned their priorities; if it were me, I’d be thankful that no one got hurt and that it wasn’t a real bomb.

      Anyways, I am, however, looking forward to St. Nikolaus Day. Do you guys celebrate that in Denmark?

      1. Well, it’s unique to the U.S. because Thanksgiving is, I’d imagine. Though I don’t remember “Black Friday” being much of anything when I was a kid, either, and I was stateside. Maybe I just wasn’t really concerned with shopping, but more interested in the turkey 😉

        If a bomb threat was called in I think I’d be more concerned about whether or not myself, or anyone else, was hurt rather than not being able to get to gifts, paid for or not. Those are material things and could be replaced, even if it’s a pain in the bum to do so, it could be so much worse.

        If you mean Christmas, then yes, we celebrate that 😉

  2. I know Canada also has Thanksgiving, but they don’t have Black Friday (at least not from what I hear from my Canadian friends). It’s just an unofficial measure of the start of holiday season, and the U.S. is so concerned about “getting back in the black” (finance term) and consumerism and making money than important things like family and friends. That’s why it’s unique to U.S.; I can’t really think of another country who’s so obsessed about making money.

    I fully agree wtih you on the bomb threat.

    And St. Nikolaus Day is separate from Christmas. I believe it’s celebrated on December 6th, and there’s a whole set of traditions that come along with it. Must be unique to Germany, then. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

