Posted in Making Memories Mondays

Making Memories (and friends) Monday: No…Sleep…’Til POSTING!!!!

Bonus points for anyone who caught the song reference.  🙂

I refuse for this to be the third (fourth?) week in a row where I don’t post my November pictures to take throughout the year.  I realize that by now the pictures will seem less than spectacular, but I don’t care.  Being the lister that I am, I just want the satisfaction of finally checking it off!  So enjoy, folks!  🙂

Pictures to Take Throughout the Year

November (all catch up)

My first picture deserves a quick story.  One of the things listed under November was “geese flying south”.  So I spent a good portion of November looking up in the sky, keeping a look out for geese.  I went on many walks with my doggie at a local park with my head looking toward the sky, which must have weirded out passersby.  I had pretty much given up on it and was going to resort to posting an old picture from earlier in the year of newly-hatched goslings on the lake.

Then in my last French drain-building foray, while I was taking pictures for evidence (and to show us that we actually made amazing progress), my hubby (who, awesome as he is, kept an eye on the sky along with me because he knew how much I was trying to get it checked off my list) suddenly exclaimed, “Geese!”  I got excited right along with him, then was immediately bummed out.  “Great,”  I said.  “The one time I don’t have my camera with me.”  My husband looks at my wrist, where my camera is dangling from my wrist from having just taken pictures of the drain.

*Ladies and gentlemen, I am not blonde, but I do have my moments.*

So I caught this just before they were out of sight.  Yay!  😀

Blogcheckmarkgeese flying south

105_1305

BlogcheckmarkThanksgiving dinner!!!!  😀 

(loved ones preparing the food, people setting the table, home décor, family at the table, people watching a game after dinner)

105_1270

The turkey:  before.  Prepped by my little brother.  He’s got magic turkey-seasoning hands.

105_1271

Mom made bibimbap (basically Korean fried rice) for lunch to feed us while prepping dinner.  So yummy!

105_1275

Cook’s gotta wear a cute apron for photo opportunities, right?  😉

105_1287

Blurry, but it works.  🙂  Also, I think my little bro was upstairs playing video games or something, so he is not pictured.  Also not pictured: my doggie.

105_1293

This is sort of a two-fer.  We had to move the centerpiece decor to the window ledges because we ran out of room for the food.  So you can see the decor ever-so-slightly on the ledge.  And here’s the leftover turkey.  Brutal, I know.

105_1291

Okay, so “all the food on the table” wasn’t officially on the checklist, but I had to show off the results of all my hard work.  This is the first Thanksgiving I’ve hosted, and therefore I did most of the cooking.  I am so proud of how pretty everything looked! 

**Just so you all know, the boys were downstairs in the den watching a football game, but I was too busy cooking to actually get a picture.

BlogcheckmarkBlack Friday Madness

105_1273

The freakishly huge mailer of coupons featuring Black Friday deals.  I don’t think this even begins to accurately capture how THICK this stack was.  It’s usually about 1/10th this size or smaller.  Insane.  (For those who are curious, HECK NO I did not go Black Friday shopping.)

Instead, I did this:

105_1295

Roasted chestnuts,

105_1302

Made stuffed squash (and mushroom/bacon/onion quiche, apple glazed pork tenderloin, and stuffing…mmmmm)

105_1299

Received a gorgeous bouquet as a hostess present, and

105_1301

Hung out with friends in my third annual Black Friday dinner and enjoyed a nice, relaxing evening not filled with chaotic shopping.

Blogcheckmarkfamily members turning on turning on Christmas lights

105_1400

Dexter checking to see which lights work.  🙂

**As for the other things on the November list, it hasn’t started snowing and we haven’t started Christmas cards yet, so those pictures will have to wait for another Monday.

Anyhow, let’s move onto Friend Making Mondays, shall we?

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Christmas Questions

1. How will you celebrate the holidays this year?  It’s funny, we haven’t really discussed official plans for this year amongst our families yet.  We sorta broke tradition by having Thanksgiving all together at our new house, so I’m not sure what Christmas will bring.  I’m kinda hoping we get to go to my parents’ for Christmas like every year because there are some traditions they have that would be hard to bring to our house.  When we have a kiddo, though, that will change.  We’ll make traditions of our own.  So most likely we’ll do midnight mass, spend the night at my parents’, do Christmas there, then do the day after Christmas with the hubby’s family or the next available weekend.

2. What’s the weather currently like where you live? Last I checked it was dry and in the 40s.  No snow yet, though.  Boo.  😦

3. Do you decorate your home for the holidays? If so, share a picture please!  Oh, I LOVE decorating my home for the holidays!  My friends have teased me (pretty correctly) that I like to have my home pretty much puking Christmas.  I love Christmas decorations soooo much!  Unfortunately I’m a bit behind because the vertigo set me back, but here are some highlights:

105_1330

(I’ll be featuring this on my Ta-Da! Tuesday post tomorrow if you want to know how I did it.)

105_1323

This year’s ultimate score at the antique store:  snowmen riding a rockingunicorn.  And of course, if you know me, you know of my love of unicorns and snow.  So this is like so many things I love all in one.

105_1316

Stack of Christmas books, Christmas candles, and a cup of cranberry ginger ale to fuel us while decorating.

105_1320

Our “Our First Home” ornaments.

4. What is your favorite Christmas movie? Oh gosh, this is going to sound so cheesy, but it’s this little-known movie called Prancer.  It was like a made-for-TV movie or something and I watched it when I was little and I fell in love with it.  Although I don’t have a copy of it for myself…hmmm…that needs to be remedied.  I’m sure I have other favorite ones, but that’s the only one that sticks in my mind at the moment.

5. What is your favorite Christmas songs?  I love Christmas music so much, it’s so hard to choose just one!   I’d have to say favorite religious one is O Holy Night, favorite secular one is Grownup Christmas List (the Amy Grant version, though the Kelly Clarkson version is growing on me), and a few obscure ones are Amy Grant’s Tennessee Christmas, Brad Paisley’s Kung Pao Buckaroo Holiday, Sugarland’s Little Wood Guitar, Straight No Chaser’s 12 Days of Christmas, and Taylor Swift’s version of Silent Night.  And oh, so many more!!!!!!!!!!

6. Do you have an advent calendar?  Not at the moment, but I did used to get the one-use ones when I lived in Germany.  I should make one as a craft one year.  I also usually get my little brother one every year for his birthday because it’s on December 1st, which is perfect.  I forgot to do it this year, though.  😦

7. Do you prefer color lights or white lights?  I, like other posters have said, enjoy white lights on the tree and colored lights outside.  My exception to this is when there are white icicle lights outside and small colored lights inside.  That looks beautiful, too.  🙂  My dream “light display” would be lots of greenery (wreaths and garland), red bows, and white lights woven into them.  So classy.

8. What is your favorite food to eat over the holidays?  I’ve recently taken a liking to white chocolate peppermint bark.  Yum!  I’d have to say I like cookies.  Ooooh, and marzipan!  Definitely marzipan!  But my favorites over the holidays deal more with drinks:  hot chocolate, apple cider, and egg nog.  Mmmm.

9. Do you display a live tree, or do you prefer fake trees?  I’ve had a fake tree 29 out of the 30 Christmases of my life.  For the longest time, I dreamed of a real tree, of breathing in its intoxicating scent and picking one out at the farm with family.  A few years back, somewhere between 2007 & 2009, my boss at the time was so grateful to my husband for helping her pick out a tree when she wasn’t feeling up to it and also for playing chaffeur in the snow that she decided to gift us a real Christmas tree (she’d heard me pine–forgive the pun–away for a real one during work so she got the idea that way).  For maybe the first week, I was so over the moon about having a real tree.  Then it started shedding.  Like CRAZY.  It was not pretty.  Ever since then, we’ve decided fake is much less maintenance.

105_1313

10. What would you need to make your holiday perfect this year?  No stress, not having to worry about money for presents, everyone getting along, and being surrounded by love instead of grumpiness, sickness, and impatience.  I want everyone to get along and just breathe in the wonderful spirit of the season.  A good job wouldn’t hurt, either.  🙂

 

How are you guys doing?  Getting as excited for the holidays as I am?  I have to say, having turned into a wrapping snob from a couple jobs back, I am super excited to wrap my presents and show them off!  🙂

Hoooooorrraaaaay For Sleeeeeeeep!  🙂

Violet

2 thoughts on “Making Memories (and friends) Monday: No…Sleep…’Til POSTING!!!!

  1. What is it with dogs inspecting the lights? My Beagle did the same thing, while the cats inspected the ornaments.

    Ooo, I’m all about the eggnog this time of year, too! It doesn’t even need any booze, but that’s ok if it does!

    stopping by from FMM – Merry Christmas!

  2. Welcome, Lisa! The holiday season has been such a busy whirlwind for me, so I’m sorry it took me so long to respond.

    My dog didn’t actually inspect the lights; hubby was checking to see which ones worked, and doggie just happened to plop right down in the middle of it. 🙂 But it’s so cute that your beagle does it! And I think cats are just notorious for checking out anything shiny. Yours are definitely not the only one!

    Hope you had a merry Christmas!

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

