Posted in Written Word Wednesdays

Written Word Wednesday: An Inspirational Retrospective

Hi everyone, and happy 2013!  I hope this new year proves to be productive, peaceful, and prosperous for you (oh, alliteration, how I love you!).  The holiday season was quite busy for me and so posts came few and far between, but one of my goals for this year was to maintain my blog on a more consistent basis, so here I am.

Another one of my goals (I’m hesitant to say “resolutions” yet) is to write at least 10 minutes a day.  I’ve really missed it, being a writer at heart.  So I hope this is one goal I actually meet, mostly for the sake of my mental health.  I always feel like something’s missing in my life when I don’t write for a long time.

In my 20 minutes of writing in my journal today (playing catch up because I didn’t do any writing yesterday), I came across a random poem I wrote last year.  It was very spur-of-the-moment and unedited, inspired by looking out the window and seeing the snow melt off the trees after what we called “Snowpocalypse 2012”.  I didn’t catch an after picture, but here are several befores:

DSCN4723 DSCN4791 DSCN4784 DSCN4777 DSCN4765 DSCN4762

Anyhow, seeing as it’s Written Word Wednesday, I’d like to share the poem that I hurriedly dashed off and didn’t even finish.  🙂  It inspired me to perhaps edit and finish it soon, and to write more in the upcoming year.  Mostly because I feel like I’m coming out of a hibernation of sorts myself:  a non-writing hibernation.  Enjoy!

(c) Copyright VC/GS listlovelaugh.wordpress.com

After the Freeze

The trees slowly yawn
back to life,
slinking slowly out
of their snowy hibernation,
reaching limbs out tentatively,
not yet quite ready to greet the sun.

The last of the icy cover slips off their toes,
and they spring out of bed,
the light too jarring.

(c) Copyright VC/GS listlovelaugh.wordpress.com

To Coming Out of Your Own Personal Hibernation in 2013,

Violet

4 thoughts on “Written Word Wednesday: An Inspirational Retrospective

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

