Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: And the Nominees Are…

Time for something fun!  Today I’m not showing off something that I did.  Today, I’ve gotten the honor of getting nominated for a Liebster Award by my dear friend Marci.  You should definitely go check out her blog, like a small fire.  It’s a great read about pretty much anything imaginable, though I’m partial to checking out her fauxtagrams and the stories behind them.

Anyway, I can’t remember the last time I’ve been nominated for an award, and I’ve been enjoying these questionnaires, so it’s a win-win.  🙂  Here goes!

liebsterblogawardTHE RULES:
– Each person tagged must post 11 things about themselves.
– They must also answer the 11 questions the tagger has set for them.
– They must then choose 11 bloggers to tag & award with the Liebster award (nominees must have less than 200 followers). These lucky bloggers must be told in a comment on their blog.
– They must create 11 more questions to ask bloggers they have decided to tag.

11 Things About

Gosh, I’ve done these “x amount” of things about me so many times that I feel there’s not a whole lot new that I can offer up.  So I apologize ahead of time if these may be “heard that way too many times” answers.

*1* I didn’t have my first kiss until I was 20.  Five years later, I married him, and am still married to him.  🙂

*2* After New Year’s Eve, Valentine’s Day is my very favorite holiday.  It doesn’t matter if I’m taken or single.  In fact, I would even venture to say that it’s more fun when you’re single.  I love a good reason to bring out glitter and deck everything in hearts and eat chocolate and see pretty bouquets of flowers and be vocal about loving someone.  I love giving Valentine’s Day cards out.  All of these things don’t require a partner to do, y’all.  I just love bringing sunshine to those I care about, and others should follow suit.  It should happen every day!

*3* Since about the fifth grade, I’ve changed my signature once a year until sometime in my 20s.  Then of course, I got married so I changed it again.  My maiden name had an “i” that I loved to dot with a heart, and my married name also has an “i”, so my hubby graciously allowed to “girly up his last name” by keeping the heart over the i.  He said it was the least he could do since I made the choice to take his name.  🙂

*4* I worked for a stationery store for almost five years.  Ever since then, I’ve become not-so-secretly a card and wrapping paper snob.  I totally judge others’ cards, but if it is homemade and/or a lot of work obviously went into it, then it wins, hands-down.  Here’s some of my wrapping work, so you can judge mine.  It’s only fair.  🙂

100_3693 100_4098 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

100_0815

(I realize now that these presents don’t represent my versatility.  Ah, well.  Irony’s a funny thing.)

*5* You probably would never guess it from my current fashion sense, but I went through a wannabe gangsta phase in junior high, complete with baggy jeans, large hoop earrings, and dark lipstick.  N i UzE 2 tHaNk i WuZ KoO 4 WrItInG LyK DiS.  (An early precursor to icanhascheezburger speech, maybe?)  I still have to figure out where all those pictures went.  Nobody that met me after junior high believes me.

*6* I can memorize the Left Eye’s rap part to TLC’s “Waterfalls” flawlessly.  What?  You didn’t know “Waterfalls” had a rap part?  That’s because so many radio stations leave it out when they play it.  And I always get offended by it because 1) they deny me the chance to show off my mad rapping skillz and 2) I firmly believe it is a great dishonor to the memory of Lisa “Left Eye” Lopez to leave out that part altogether.  (May she rest in peace.)

*7* If you give me a 64-pack of Crayola crayons from the 1990s (I realize they’ve since retired and replaced colors) and remove one crayon without me looking, I can tell you, upon a two-minute or less inspection, the name of the crayon that’s missing.

crayons

*8* I have never jumped off a diving board, and I never plan to if I don’t have to.

*9*  Speaking of water, I once jumped into and swam in a lake with all my clothes on.  It was awesome.

*10* I have a ridiculous talent for recalling people’s birthdays.  I could probably free up some space and study astrophysics instead, but no, my brain decides it wants people’s birthdays to stick.

*11* Though I can carry on a perfectly good conversation with those I trust and feel comfortable and on equal ground intellectually with, I stutter and forget words and sound like an unbelievable idiot around those I think are better than me in any way.  So if my conversation with you contains a lot of pauses, wrong words, and stumbling over myself (keep in mind I have dual English degrees), you should be flattered.

11 Questions from Marci:

*1* What’s the most important thing on your bucket list?

Well, just so happens, I actually wrote down my bucket list, so lemme go glance at it really quick and figure it out!  🙂
Okay.  So I guess I should differentiate between the thing I most want to do and the most important thing.  The thing I most want to do is to visit the Seven Natural Wonders of the World (item #3), because really, how awesome would that be to accomplish that?!?  But the most important thing to me would be item #15: find a best friend that will last forever.  I don’t make it known very often, but I have to say it’s been really hard not having a best friend.  It’s of the utmost importance to me to find someone (besides my husband) who will be there for me through thick and thin, through growing old, and love me unconditionally.  I crave and miss that kind of friendship so much it hurts.

*2* Favorite joke?

Last night I turned a blank tape up full blast and the mime next door went nuts!

*3* What job do you never ever ever want to have, no matter what?

A gravedigger.  I don’t think I have to explain that one.

*4* What’s your comfort food?

Cheetos and lavender ice cream.  Sometimes in tandem.

*5* Favorite word?

Contemplate.  Sounds much smarter than “think about it”.

*6* What’s your favorite thing about the person who nominated you? I kid! I kid! Okay but seriously, though… No no, really, I’m kidding. It’s hard to think of 11 questions!

Totally answering the above question anyway!  🙂  My favorite thing about Marci is her unabashed creativity, whether it’s through her art, her writing, or her fashion.  She turns out amazingly beautiful things in all three categories and I greatly admire her for that!  And also that she gets that THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS TOO MANY BOOKS!  😀

*6* What’s a piece of art or literature that provides a somewhat constant source of inspiration or motivation?

Art:  I love all of van Gogh’s night paintings and have them hanging in my bedroom.  Pretty much any picture of stars or the night sky are so inspirational to me.  Literature:  On a related note, Lord Byron’s “She Walks in Beauty” has been my favorite poem for a long time.  And even though I think Shakespeare is overdone, I’ve always loved the passage where Juliet says,

“Come, gentle night, come, loving, black-browed night,
Give me my Romeo. And when I shall die,
Take him and cut him out in little stars,
And he will make the face of heaven so fine
That all the world will be in love with night
And pay no worship to the garish sun.”
I’ve had a lot of people look at me strangely because it seems really creepy to cut up a guy and turn him into a constellation, and I agree, but I’m pretty sure this was a metaphor, people.  Anyway, I love the idea of falling in love with the night and seeing the sun as something ugly and blindingly bright in comparison.  Mostly because that’s how I feel in real life.  There’s also Gregory Hischak’s essay “End of the World Bake Sale”, which I consistently tell other people about and reference at least once a year.

*7* ‘Fess up–what do you pretend to hate but secretly love?

The boy band One Direction.  Not so much the boys themselves (I would feel like such a cradlerobber!), but their songs are super-catchy and I find myself singing along to them and enjoying them more than I should.  It started with  “One Thing” and “What Makes You Beautiful”, songs I still tap my toes to, but right now my new favorite song from them is “Little Things”.  I’m totally too old to like this stuff, but I do.  Shh, don’t tell!  😉

*8* If you had to trade your partner in, who would you pick as the replacement?

Honestly, there is no one that I can think of out there that I would share the rest of my life with.  That’s not even a cop out.  I racked my brain to see if there is anyone I would love to see every day, but all the celebrities and even the fictional characters I swoon over (Jon Bon Jovi, Brad Paisley, Adam Levine, Ted from “How I Met Your Mother”, Jess from “Gilmore Girls”…etc.) have drama and/or things that would really bother me.  So I’m going to this another direction and say Jen Lancaster, who is one of my very favorite authors.  Not for anything romantic, mind you, because she’s married herself, but for the fantastic company.  She’s entertaining and hilarious and we could taste wine together and talk about our mutual love of reality TV shows and make appearances in each other’s memoirs.  And I’d get to intercept her Ambien-induced Amazon purchases.  There would never be a dull moment in my life.  🙂

*9* Describe your dreamy, perfect day

It would undoubtedly be a clear, bright winter day with fresh snow falling and sticking, making everything sparkle.  I’d wake up with the sunrise, refreshed after a good nine or so hours of sleep to breakfast in bed somewhere in HGTV’s 2011 Dream Home in Stowe, Vermont. (Anywhere.  I love every single room in this house.)  It would be like the most amazing Eggs Benedict or Monte Cristo sandwich I’ve ever had, complete with freshly-squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit.  Then I’d go strolling around the antiques district and find something fabulous to decorate the house with.  I’d retreat to a library or bookstore with breathtaking views of the scenery and spend hours there browsing to my heart’s content, coming out with armloads full of new books.  Then I’d cozy up in a nook somewhere and have an awesome writing session.  By then it would be lunchtime so I’d find a great independent cafe and have the best cup of coffee I’ve ever had in my life and a French dip sandwich to warm up with.  There would be a live jazz band/singer playing in the background.  Afterwards there would be an open mic and I’d have the chance to listen to the local talent and I’d read a new poem of mine.  After coming back to the house to bundle up in a cute, comfy, and warm outfit, it would be an afternoon of playing in the snow!  There’d be snow angel- and snowman-making, innertubing/sledding, snowball fights, building of snow forts, and snowboarding on the bunny slopes.  We’d play in the snow until it was night time and we’d take the lift up to the top of the mountain and stargaze for awhile.  Then we’d retreat back to the house for some hot chocolate and good wine and warm up by the fire.  For dinner time, it’s time to go somewhere I can dress up in a formal evening dress.  It would be a fabulous Italian or Indian restaurant, and there would be a chance to kick of my shoes and do some dancing afterwards.  Back to the house again to change into some comfy clothes, and we’d invite our closest friends over for a sleepover.  There would be a s’mores bar outside by a bonfire and we’d gather around and have great conversation, and we’d also make some maple syrup candy in the snow.  Then we’d come inside and I’d do some crafting while our friends hung out and watched fun movies that don’t require any thinking (i.e., Pixar movies, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, Harold & Kumar…) until the wee hours of the morning. Oh, and if someone happened to gift me a real unicorn, that wouldn’t hurt.  🙂

*10* What animal do you wanted to be reincarnated as?

Those that know me well would assume I’d say a unicorn right off the bat, but they’d be wrong.  I’d actually want to be reincarnated as a dolphin, which is my (little-known)- second-favorite animal.  Dolphins just seem to bring smiles and wonder and awe to anyone who comes in contact with them, and it would be great to be able to know how to swim because I currently am a horrible swimmer.  Also, can you imagine the gorgeous sealife they’d get to see?

*11* Who’s wardrobe would you steal, ignoring size issues?

My big three are Lorelei Gilmore, Jillian Harris (yep, the former Bachelorette and one of the designers on Extreme Makeover: Home Edition), and Taylor Swift.  Out of all three I think I’d choose Taylor.  I’ve loved every single thing I’ve ever seen her wear.  Here are some of my favorites:

taylor begin again dress taylor love potion no 9 shirt taylor speak now purple dress taylor swift fox shirt taylor swift montage taylor swift van gogh

11 Questions for Nominees

I have to be a rebel and break the rules a bit.  I don’t have 11 bloggers to tag because I’m still a relative newbie and haven’t found 11 blogs to regularly follow.  Actually, no, that’s a lie.  I’ve found many blogs that I’m interested in that my friends have told me about, but the majority of them are well-known blogs with upwards of thousands of followers, so they don’t count because they have more than 200 followers.  (Something for me to aspire to, I guess.)  So I’m going to tag a couple of bloggers that I’ve found on my own and that I thoroughly enjoy:  Ais from couture for curves and Hailey from divine mrs. diva, both of whom I discovered through Friend Makin’ Mondays.  So bonus is that I know that least they both like doing questionnaires.  🙂  No pressure to either of them to actually do it, either.  I know, I’m such a chicken-blogger.  😉

*1* Describe what your most perfect breakfast, lunch, and dinner would be.

*2* Imagine your favorite outfit that you own.  Which celebrity do you think would look fabulous wearing it?

*3* (since I know you both own dogs) If money were no object, what kind of luxuriously perfect day would you treat your dog(s) to?

*4* If you won a $10,000 shopping spree to any store, which store would you choose?

*5* What’s your favorite color, and why?

*6* Which song are you most embarassed to admit you sing along to?

*7* What do you imagine world peace to look like?

*8* If you could bring back a pop culture item from the year you were born, what would it be?

*9* What hairstyle have you always wanted, but have been too scared to try?

*10* If you could write a letter to your teenage self, what would you say?

*11* Which place do you want to visit that you’ve never visited before?  (Anywhere in the universe is up for grabs!)

And if any of you new followers want to participate, please feel free to do so!  I’d love to know more about all of you.

To Slowly Breaking Out of My Shy Blogging Shell, One Post (and award) at a Time,

Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

