Posted in Making Memories Mondays

Making Memories Monday: Firsts & FMM

Happy Monday, Everyone!

I, for one, am ready to put the craziness that was last week behind me.  I’m glad I get a brand new week to start anew and to accumulate good memories to counteract the bad.

Let’s start with something that hasn’t been seen in awhile:  checkmarks!  🙂

Ironically, I’ll be listing my “firsts” of the year, and these are the first pictures I’ve posted on my blog for this year, too.  They may, perhaps, be the only January pictures I post because of certain circumstances, but we’ll see.  Here we go!

Pictures to Take Throughout the Year

January Firsts

DSCN5167snow

105_1509

Okay, I confess:  this isn’t the first snowfall of 2013.  It HAS snowed since the beginning of this year, and it did actually stay on the ground for awhile, and I kept telling myself to take a picture before it melted away, but it didn’t happen.  So this is a picture of the first snowfall that I’ve experienced in my new house, which I’ll take the liberty of calling a wonderful “first” in and of itself.

DSCN5167new outfit

105_1695

So now I feel I have to put an explanation here.  If you’re interested, here is a good page that explains a typical Filipino New Year’s Eve celebration.  It’s pretty awesome.  It’ll explain this polka dot outfit, as well as the pictures of the family dinner.  🙂
That being said, I have to say this is my favorite New Year’s outfit to date.

DSCN5167family dinner

105_1705 105_1706
Our delicious New Year’s dinner, spent with my entire family: rice, chop suey, apritada, lechon, siopao, leche plan, pancit, round fruits. 

DSCN5167book you read

105_1745

I was a little unclear about what “first book you read” meant, so here are three, defined by different “firsts”:
1) “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened”, Jenny Lawson=first book I started from the beginning.
I borrowed this book from my friend Marci a few months back after hearing rave reviews from all my reliable book-suggestion sources.  I eased into it slowly because I was in the middle of about seven other books.  Then the Newtown tragedy happened and I found it hard to read the chapters about guns and dead things, so I had to put it aside.  After the new year, I started again from the beginning and pushed through to the chapters on her marriage, which have made me hurt myself laughing.  I’m glad I’m reading it again; it’s been good therapy.  And I’m about a chapter away from finishing.
2) “Reached”, Ally Condie=first book I literally picked up and started reading after the new year.  I was already about halfway through this book, but it’s one I’ve been reading aloud with my hubby, so I can’t just plow through it quickly at my own leisure, much as I’d like to.  We’ve read all three books in this series aloud, so we’re both excited to see how it will conclude. (About 50 pages away!)
3) Sweet Valley Twins “The Twins Take Paris”, Francine Pascal=first book I started and finished in the new year.
…let me explain.  I’ve long been a collector of the Sweet Valley Twins series (since I was eight), and of course I still own that collection (I’m trying to complete it).  In fact, it has a prominent  spot on my beloved sitting room bookshelf.  When I feel like a light, quick read, I pick up one of the SVTs.  Seeing as I’m going to do a date in Paris, I thought it would be fun to see how the Wakefield twins experienced it.  I finished it in about four hours flat.  It was wonderful.  🙂

And now on to this week’s FMM!

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Getting To Know Each Other

1. What is your favorite color? Purple, though anything colorful makes me happy. 🙂

2. Share one or more of your talents.  Hm.  This is a bad question to ask today.  My mind is blank.  I’ll come back to this at a later time.

3. If you were spending the day getting to know someone new, where would you want to go?  To an independent bookstore with a coffee shop attached.  That way there would be conversation around a comfortable venue, shopping, and finding out a lot about someone by talking about books.  And this would work for anyone from a celebrity, to the President, to a stranger on the street that I found interesting.

4. What is your favorite meal?  I have so many favorite foods, but I’d have to say my last memorably-transcendent meal was Claim Jumper’s whiskey apple-glazed pork tenderloin meal.  It was a few years ago, so I’m not even sure they even make it, but it came with a yummy stuffing, roasted winter veggies, and a biscuit with honey butter.  Sooo good.

5.  Do you prefer to text or talk?  I’ve recently become more of a fan of texting, though it took me awhile to jump on the bandwagon.  But nothing beats in-person talking.  🙂

6. Share something about yourself that might surprise someone that you’re getting to know.  If money wasn’t an issue, I would voluntarily be a housewife, and enjoy it.

7. Do you color your hair? I’ve only colored it twice; both times being grape-purple highlights.

8. Do you wear glasses or contacts? I was one of those weird kids who actually wanted glasses, and so every once in awhile I’d wear fake ones to make myself look smarter and more mature.  Two years ago, I got my first pair of prescription glasses and I absolutely love them.  They’re an accessory that I now feel I look weird without.  I get a brand new pair in  couple of months and I’m so excited!

9. What is your favorite breakfast food?  Either Eggs Benedict or a Monte Cristo sandwich.  Or my husband’s home fries.  He makes the best ones I’ve ever tasted!

10. Would your friends say that you’re sarcastic?  I have my moments, yes.  🙂

11. Do you prefer salty or sweet?  Sweet, but if I didn’t have to choose, I like it best when they’re mixed together, like salted caramel.

12. What is the first thing you notice about the opposite sex?  The way they walk.

13. What is the last movie you watched?  The last one I remember watching is the documentary “Happy”.  It was one of those free iTunes downloads that Starbucks gives out.  It was actually really interesting!

14.  Are you religious?  I refer to myself as a rebel Catholic.  Straight answer?  I guess I would consider myself religious but not excessively so.

15. Are you a neat freak, a slob, or somewhere in between? Somewhere in between.  I have what I call “organized messes”.  That shocks a lot of people who’ve worked with me for a long time, though.  They all assume by the way I carry myself at work that I’m a neat freak.

16. Share something from your bucket list that you hope to do someday.  Hmm…I hope to do everything on my bucket list, otherwise it wouldn’t be on it, right? 😉  I’d have to say the one I hope to do in the near future is to build and live in a working igloo for at least a day.  We were supposed to do it sometime in January at a friend’s cabin backyard in the snowy woods, but January’s almost over.  I still hope to do it before winter’s over, though.

17. Are you a risk taker, or do you prefer to play it safe?  Oh, I play it safe, for sure.  Sometimes to my own detriment.

18. Have you ever worn braces? No, but I’ve had many people ask me if I have worn them in the past because apparently my teeth are super-straight.  It’s an illusion.  I have a very obvious overbite and crooked bottom teeth.  But I still love the way my smile looks in pictures. 🙂

19. Would you rather spend an evening at a theater or at a club?  Theater all the way.  Even when I was in my clubbing stage in my early 20s, I’d still have preferred the theater.

20. If you could have three wishes, what would one of them be?  1) Peace on Earth 2) For everyone on the planet to be happy 3) To be working at my dream job, complete with perfect schedule, with the security of never getting fired.

Now it’s your turn to answer this week’s questions.  Don’t forget to come back and link up in the comments!  Happy Monday!

Can’t Think of a Clever Send-Off Today Because It’s So Late/Early,

Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

