Posted in Uncategorized

Thoughts on Thursday: The Importance of Alphabet Soup

Short post today.  🙂

Some people work really hard to have letters after their name:  PhD, MD, DDS.  RNA, LSW.  JD, MDiv.

A lot of people in my life have that all-important alphabet soup, and for good reason.  They put in many years of hard work for them, and I’m so proud of them.  They look good in resumes, and they make you look more legit when it comes to business cards.

One day, I strive to have letters after my own name:  PTR, meaning registered poetry therapist.  I am excited to see a future with those letters gracing my name.  I look forward to the classes and hours I’ll put in helping others heal through the power of writing.  I long for that day.

But that day is not today.  Until then, my genius hubby has come up with letters to have in the meantime.  A PTR placeholder, if you will:  NB.  It means Name Bling.  Because, really, that’s what those letters after your name are, anyway.  It’s shiny, makes you look important, and probably cost a whole lot of money to get real ones.  If that’s not Name Bling, I don’t know what it is.

After his suggestion, I quickly looked up the abbreviation on Google to see if it may have another meaning.  I found two, but each one is still equally awesome as Name Bling, in my opinion.  The first one stands for the Latin “nota bene”, or to take special note (“note well”).  Which is fine, because I don’t mind people noting my name well.  🙂  The other one is “no breath”, something one writes in their choir music to remember to not disconnect a phrase.  I remember this well from my own choir days.  That’s also pretty awesome, because that means people respect my name enough to not separate it.  There’s also the 41st element niobium, which has a cool Greek backstory (she’s the daughter of Tantalus) and is also a pretty-colored metal.  Also something I don’t mind.  So really, it’s a mega-win.

What do you guys think?  Do letters after a name matter?  Does it make someone look more important, or is it just pretentious?  Have you worked hard for letters of your own?  Are there letters you wish to have after your name?  Let me know in the comments below!  🙂

Love From the Person Temporarily Known As,
Violet Corniun, NB  😀

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursday: The Importance of Alphabet Soup

  1. It makes me think of NBD, no big deal. So now it’s Violet Corniun, No Biggie. Like you just have this casual, nonchalant shrug about understanding your high level of awesomeness, but not letting it consume you.

    1. I think in my case, I sorta want NB to be a “fake it ’til you make it” kind of thing. Honestly, I sometimes can’t help but compare myself to my peers. It’s a horrible, horrible habit. I’ll be the first to admit that. But it’s so hard when the opinions that matter most to me keep going on and on and on about said people with fancy schmancy letters. I know, I know: “those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind”. Gotta remember that.

      For now, though, having the illusion of having a high level of awesomeness does consume me. I look forward to the day when it doesn’t.

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

