Posted in Scholastic Saturdays

Scholastic Saturday: Preparing for the Road Ahead

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve recently started getting offers and payments for books to edit.  It has been a humbling experience, to say the least, to have my skills recognized, sought out, and renumerated.  Situations like these only make me want to work harder to be worthy of being trusted to look at these projects, which for the most part are stories that have a lot of the writer’s soul in it.

So for this Scholastic Saturday, and several more afterwards, I plan on adding to my knowledge of the editing and publishing world.  I checked out the Chicago Manual of Style from the library, and I plan to get through all 900+ pages of it, for the good of the craft, and to increase my legitimacy.  See, I was raised with MLA getting drilled into my core, and so breaking away from it will take lots of training and dilligence on my part.  This is self-teaching at its finest, and I really want to succeed.

I’ve since opened myself up to clients via a new Facebook page and have started networking with other freelance editors.  I feel good about this venture.  Along the way, I hope to pass along some nuggets of wisdom that I learn from the book, and just from my experiences in general.

Wish me luck, and thank you ahead of time for following me in this new, scary, but very exciting journey.  🙂

To Starting Your Own Journey to Your Best Possible Self,

Violet
Violet Corniun, NB

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

