Posted in Making Memories Mondays

Making Memories Monday: Helpful Rituals

Last week was a crazy blur for me.  I felt a lot of days consisted of starting something and not finishing it.  I had a couple days of being consumed by my emotions that I couldn’t concentrate on anything else, a day I’ve officially named The Day When My Klutziness Came Back With a Vengeance, and a lot of the week was spent planning my trip to “Ireland” (which I’ll go into tomorrow if I actually get my act together!).  So posting on my blog became an afterthought.

I have a feeling some of it spilled into today, only because I don’t feel like posting any of the pictures from my March checklist, even though I have some great ones!  So I’m thinking week four will be a picture explosion, so hopefully that’s something to look forward to!  🙂  Until then, I’d like to at least post a picture of daffodils, mostly because they’re my favorite flower and this week is the start of spring!

DSCN5269
Also appropriate since daffodils were my wedding flower, and our five-year anniversary is tomorrow!  🙂

I’ve noticed, though, that even on weeks where I don’t really feel much like posting anything else, I look forward to a new Friend Makin’ Monday survey from Kenlie at alltheweigh.com.  It’s actually true for many aspects of my life, that if I work up a routine, it sticks, and my day/week/month/year doesn’t feel right without it.  For example, in the new year, I’ve started writing ten minutes a day in my journal, and I’ve kept up with it really well.  The days I get too busy to do it, though, I feel as if something’s missing.  So far, I’ve been really good at making for those days when I don’t write by tacking on an additional ten minutes for every day I’ve missed (the longest I’ve gone this year without writing in my journal was four days, but it made for a great 40-minute writing session).  Anyway, here is the survey for this week!

wpid-friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179.jpg

Pondering Personal Thoughts

1. How old would you feel if you didn’t know how old you are? It’s weird, because I have times where I feel much older, and times where I feel much younger, depending on the situation.  My playful side is perpetually eight, complete with unicorn obsessions, silly dances, coloring with crayons, and building couch cushion forts.  My professional self is in her mid-40s (I like to be taken seriously, but I look like I’m 16, so I overcompensate by acting and dressing much older than I am in work situations).  My baseline, though, feels about nineteen:  new to adulthood and resisting the annoying parts of being an adult for as long as I can, and struggling to find my place in this world.  (In real life, I’ll be 31 in less than two months!  Eeep, when did that happen?!?)

2. Are you the kind of friend you’d want to have as a friend? From what my friends tell me about myself, yes.  I’ve consistently been told that I’m optimistic, that I drop everything for someone who needs me, that I give so much of myself, that I’m unselfish and extremely thoughtful.  I find myself reaching out to offer a listening ear, a cup of coffee delivered, or looking after kids–anything to help reduce stress.  I always try to be the kind of friend I’d want for myself, and I can only hope I’ve succeeded.

3. Look back at the last year.  When did you feel most excited about something in your life? Gosh, this last year has been incredible.  It’s hard to pick just one thing.  What stands out for me is getting to participate in a Flash Mob for the first time in my life.  It was such a rush to prepare for, and when the day actually happened, it was so much better than I could’ve hoped for!

4. Have you ever been with someone and not spoken a word, only to walk away thinking that was the best conversation ever?  Absolutely.  A comfortable silence, where neither person feels obligated to fill the space, is the mark of a wonderful friendship.

5. If you won 100 million dollars Monday, would you continue doing whatever you usually do on Tuesdays?  Well, the dog would still need to be walked, so yes.  🙂  And I love that bonding time, so I probably wouldn’t go off and pay someone else to do it.  And I’d without a doubt still do my ten minutes of journal-writing.  Hm.  The weekends would probably become suddenly full, though!

6. What would you do differently if you knew no one would judge you?  Three things come to mind instantly:  I would voice my opinion on things more, I would happily spend my days being a crafty housewife without having to worry about finding a job to pay the bills (totally not dissing those who are, but you have to admit that it gets a lot of judgment, doesn’t it?), and I would throw myself into becoming a poetry therapist without having to save money for it first, debt be damned (of course, that’s not practical, and everyone would think I’m a foolish dreamer).

7. Share something you do differently than most people. Haha…I fold my dirty laundry, which my hubby constantly makes fun of me for.

8. What’s one thing that you really want to do that you’ve never done?  Gosh, it’s always hard to answer this question without pulling an item from my bucket list.  So I guess this time I’ll be selfish and indulgent and say go on a shopping spree of $1000 or more.

9. If you had to move out of state right now, where would you move?  Somewhere in semi-rural Pennsylvania.  Or possibly Colorado.

10.  What is the one thing that you’d like to change most about the world?  I’d want to completely erase any need at all for any kind of war or violence.  This includes the bigger picture (nuclear war, military/religious wars, etc.) and the smaller picture (bullying, mass shootings, etc.).  I want our world to know an everlasting peace.

If you want to participate in this link up, head on over to alltheweigh.com and add your answers to the survey in the comments section!  It’s great fun and a wonderful way to meet other bloggers.

So what about you guys?  Do you have rituals that you’d feel odd without doing?  Do you have a favorite flower?  Are you excited for spring to begin, too?  What do you do to motivate yourself to post on a more regular basis?  I’d love to know in the comments below!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Making Memories Monday: Helpful Rituals

  1. Your blog is so sweet- I’m really glad I stumbled accross it! Isn’t the internet a wonderful, wonderful thing… I like your fresh and pretty style of writing. Thanks for sharing- looking forward to checking back in soon! MJ x

  2. You’re so sweet! Your comment really made my day, especially with what you said about my writing. What a compliment! The Internet really is a wonderful thing, especially when two glitter-lovers run into each other. 🙂 I hope my blog can bring you some smiles along the way!
    ~Violet~

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

