Posted in Fashion Fridays

Fashion Friday: Fashion Went to the Birds ***Updated with picture***

Or just one bird, as it were.

I know what you’re probably thinking:  I thought up a clever pun to introduce all the things in my wardrobe with a bird theme to it.  As much as I like bird fashion, though, I ironically can only think of three things that I own that have anything remotely to do with birds:  two tops with feathers, and an owl necklace.

But nope.  That’s not what I’m going to talk about.  I was busy prepping myself to continue on with my clothing inventory–sweaters, to be exact.  I went through the trouble of making lots of room in my camera, freeing up space for 167 pictures (not that I have that many sweaters; not by a long shot).  As soon as I was setting up to take a shot of my first sweater, hubby came home and told me to hurry downstairs to the garage.

When I got downstairs, he pointed to the corner of the space.  Sitting there, still covered in new yellow feathers, teeny as can be and just-opened eyes, was a wee, chirping little bird.  It was hopping about, pecking at the holes in the peg board, probably wondering where it could get some food.  We couldn’t find its mama, and its wing looked injured, as it had trouble flapping its right one but could flap its left one just fine.  And it looked absolutely freezing.

So we took it inside and followed both instinct and the articles we found online, getting a cardboard box with holes and lining it with a towel so it wouldn’t get its beak or feathers caught, then placed half the box over a heat pad.  We found it a nice, juicy worm and dropped it in the box, just in case.

After about an hour, we went to check in on it (I named it Hopper because it hopped around when we found it), and it seemed much more alert and kinda hop-flapped, better than the shape we found it in.  We gave it some water (it was adorable watching hubby slowly drop some water into Hopper’s beak from his finger), I provided it with just a bit of seed (because I realized I didn’t know if it was a meat-eating bird, vegetation-eating bird, or seed-eating bird), then put it back into the box.

Our doggie Dexter is doing superbly, I’m proud to say.  He’s been giving Hopper space and staying away and being gentle as he can be around the box.  I think he kinda knows what’s up, and that what’s inside the box is fragile.  It gives me bright hope that when we finally get around to having a kiddo, Dexter will be wonderful with him or her.  🙂

Anyhow, since we legally can’t keep the bird for longer than overnight, we’re going to release Hopper tomorrow to see how it does.  If you could please spare a good thought for its little birdie heart, I’d greatly appreciate it.  🙂

**I was going to include a picture of it, but I didn’t want to stress the poor thing out.  Maybe when we release it tomorrow.  :)**

***Update, Saturday, April 13th:
When I woke up this morning and went downstairs for a drink of water, I heard much commotion from Hopper’s cardboard shelter.  There were energetic chirps and light thumps and scratches, signs of a much more alert birdie who couldn’t wait to move about!  So we decided it was time to release Hopper back into the “wild” (a nice, sheltered spot in our backyard).  As soon as we opened up the box outside, my heart swelled with happiness to see Hopper not hop, but fly beautifully out of the box.  I was able to get a few pictures of it before we had to leave and do our weekend social obligations.  Here’s the best one:

105_2815
“Thanks for the help, guys!  Now off to make it on my own.”

When we came back this afternoon, I stole a peek in our backyard in the off chance that Hopper might still be wandering about, but it was nowhere to be seen.  I’m telling myself that Hopper’s out there somewhere having grand adventures instead of perhaps shivering somewhere in the cold, or a worse fate that I don’t want to think about.  Anyhow, Godspeed, Hopper.  Feel free to come and visit sometime.  ❤

To Pleasant Interruptions That Open Your Heart,
Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

