Posted in Uncategorized

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Jumping Right In

I have been a fan of mixed media collage for quite some time.  In recent months, I’ve been dabbling with the idea of making my own.  I did the typical Violet thing that I do whenever I take on a new project:  I checked out countless books on the subject.

The books sat on my shelves for awhile, through numerous renewals.  I collected ephemera to use on it, started following bloggers who do mixed media, pinned how-to links on Pinterest.

Yet something kept holding me back.  I wanted to be completely prepared, but in my time spent preparing, I never actually did anything.

Until today.  I don’t know what it was in me that finally spurred me to just jump right in and do it, but I’m so glad I did.  Except for the fact that this may get addicting.  I already have ideas for collage postcards to send my friends.

These are the first two that I did:

105_3797

(clear with glare)

105_3817

(blurry without glare)

105_3799

(closeup of mouth text)

105_3813

105_3806

(closeup of “bindhi” text)

The first one I was planning on doing a monochromatic collage, the color being green.  I started with the “DOG” lettering, but found other cutouts that related to it, and the collage sorta made itself.  I actually really love the way it turned out!

The second one turned out to be the monochromatic collage I wanted (purple).  I’m going to turn it into a postcard to send to a friend who loves purple as much as I do.  🙂

My third one is halfway done, and I’m excited to do much much more!

To Finally Doing Something You’ve Really Been Wanting to Do!!!

(What are you waiting for?!?)

Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!