Posted in Friend Making Monday

Friend Makin’ Monday: Let’s Talk Movies

How was everyone’s weekend?  Mine was quite busy and event-filled, but I’ll fill you in on all the details as the week progresses.  It was so busy, in fact, that some of the to-dos spilled into today and I’m using my blog as a welcome break from the monotony.

I’m still easing my way back into the blogging world after a long hiatus, so I thought a survey would be a wonderful, easy way to do it.  Originally I had something poignant planned, but I’ll have to save it until either Thursday or Saturday.

For now, I give you this, and a teaser that tomorrow I plan the start of something big for my blog!  (Big for me, anyway.)

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here and at losingweightandhavingfun.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

I thought I would pick movies as this week’s topics based on The Oscars being last night.

1. What is your all time favorite movie?

My Girl.  I was so obsessed with mood rings after that movie.  *spoiler if you’ve never seen it*:  I don’t think I’ve ever gotten through the movie without crying when Thomas J. dies.

my girl quote

2. Who is your favorite actor and actress?

You know, I’m not sure I have one.  It used to be Tom Hanks for the actor, but I feel he’s in everything these days.  I’m thinking maybe Neil Patrick Harris now?  And Julia Stiles for the actress.
Doctor_Horrible_Banner

3. What is the first movie you ever saw at the cinema?

I’m not quite sure.  The first I remember seeing was the animated 101 Dalmations when it re-released for the 4th time in the summer of 1991, but I was 9.  I’m pretty sure I saw a movie at the cinema before then.  Then again, I didn’t get out much as a kid.

4. Did you watch The Oscars last night?

I didn’t.  I don’t have cable, and even though it was on a basic cable channel that everyone’s supposed to have access to as long as they have bunny ears antenna, it still doesn’t come in clear.  I’ll probably catch the highlights on Hulu or something.

5. How many of the Best Picture nominations did you watch and which did you enjoy the most?

None, though out of all of them, American Hustle seems the most interesting to me.  I always feel like waiting until the hype dies down before I watch something.

6. What did you think of Ellen hosting The Oscars?

Again, I didn’t actually watch it, but I thought it was a great idea to make her the host.  I’m sure she made it extremely entertaining!

7. If you had the chance to play a part in any movie, what would it be?

Hm.  That’s a good question.  It’s funny, because all that’s running through my head are musicals and animated films right now.  Like I’d want to be Vanellope in Wreck it Ralph, Agnes in Despicable Me, or Elphaba in Wicked.  Do any of those count?  Haha.
vanellopeOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
We sorta look alike, don’t we?  🙂

8. Is there a movie you have watched that was so bad that you have either walked out of the cinema or turned it off?

Three that I remember:  1) Daredevil (the superhero film with blind Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner as Electra).  So much awful cheese I couldn’t handle it.  When they kissed and one of them was all, “Did you feel that?”  I had to excuse myself from the theater so that I and my then-boyfriend (now hubby) could go and figure out if we wanted to dry heave or laugh our butts off.  2) Iron Man.  I know people may think badly of me because of that, but I rolled my eyes when it came to the part where he changed into his suit and said something along the lines of, “Look at my cool shiny suit with weapons on it!”  Gag me.  3)  Some war movie…maybe Behind Enemy Lines?  It had the word “line” in it.  I snuck out of it when I saw too much blood (I hate shoot ’em up war movies) and watched Finding Forrester instead.  Well worth it!

9. What do you think of 3D and IMAX movies? Are they worth the extra money?

I honestly think 3D is a con to make more money.  There have been several 3D movies, Avatar and Despicable Me included (both of which were specifically made to show in a 3D format), that I’ve seen in regular 2D and it didn’t make much of a difference to me.  Then again, I’m more of a plot person than effects person.  3D doesn’t change the plot of any movie.

IMAX is a little different.  I saw Samsara on the IMAX and I don’t think it would’ve had the same impact at all had I seen it on a regular movie screen.  It’s such a visual delight that seeing it on an IMAX greatly enhances the experience.  (If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it!  Here’s the trailer.)  I’d probably say the same for other travel movies, such as a documentary on the Grand Canyon or the Amazon Rainforest or things where you need to be immersed in the scenery.  If given the choice between 3D and IMAX, I’d choose IMAX every time.

After that long ramble, I’d say IMAX is worth the extra money, while 3D isn’t.

10. What was the last movie you saw at the cinema?

I saw Monuments Men the day after Valentine’s Day.  Though I talked about my dislike of war movies above, there are some that I’ve enjoyed because of its unique story.  This was one I thought I’d enjoy, and with the press about it, I thought it would focus more on art than it actually did.  I also saw John Goodman pitching it in an interview, and he made it out to be more of a comedic war movie, but it wasn’t all that comedic to me.  It was just okay.  I expected better.

Well, that’s it for today!  Keep an eye out tomorrow for the big (ish) news, and feel free to provide your own answers and link up on Sarah’s blog!  Have a wonderful week!

To Living a Life Worthy of Turning into a Screenplay!
Violet

3 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Monday: Let’s Talk Movies

  1. Love your answers. I haven’t watched My Girl in years, might have to get a copy to watch again.
    Vanellope is super cute, I think that’s a great choice.

  2. Oo, Neil Patrick Harris is a good choice. And I love Julia Stiles’ voice. I’d also tend to agree with you about movies I’d want to star in…my first thought was animated voice-overs, followed by musicals. Never miss the opportunity to burst into song. 🙂

    PS – I found you from an old FMM and then you showed up in my followed blogs again. Also, you didn’t miss much from the Oscars…they were pretty low-key.

    My FMM answers: http://goingloopy.wordpress.com/

    1. I’m glad you stuck to reading my blog! I haven’t been blogging in over 6 months and it feels good to be back.
      I actually caught the Oscars on Hulu and you’re right; I didn’t miss much at all. Though I did dig the whole pizza bit. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

