Posted in Uncategorized, Written Word Wednesdays

“Written Word” Wednesday Twofer, Part 2: Songs from the Unknown

The second part of my twofer, as promised, is much more fun than my unknowingly-therapeutic first part.

Remember when I said I was going to try to reach out more, and that I found some great link ups?  Well, here’s one of them.

Elizabeth at Southern Finesse (isn’t that a great name for a blog?) came up with a series called “Songs From the Unknown”.  Being someone who usually ends up liking songs from an album that aren’t singles, I thought this was the perfect link up.  I found some fun new songs to add to my iTunes wish list through this link up too, so that was pretty cool.  Anyhow, let’s just jump right in, shall we?

unknownsongsbutton-linkupBasically, these songs are hidden gems that were never released as singles.  I checked to make sure by Wikipedia-ing the discography for the artists.  Other than that, no other rules.  I’ve found that the others who’ve linked up chose to do relatively well-known bands/artists.  I think that’s mostly because it’s one of those things where you can say, “You know them for THIS song, but have you ever heard THIS one?  No?  Then check it out!”  But I don’t see why you couldn’t do relatively-unknown artists, too.

Unfortunately this link up closes in about an hour, but I did happen to fall in love with her blog just by browsing through it, so I’d recommend following her blog if you like it, then maybe linking up your own songs from the unknown as comments on my page?  Just trying to share and be fair in all this.

Also, since it’s technically written word Wednesday, I’ll include my favorite lyrics from these songs.  I have to warn you, though, some of these I like because of the melody, not the lyrics.  So they may not be your usual introspective stuff.  🙂  Enjoy!
(Oh, P.S.?  I don’t know how to embed little players and I don’t have Spotify, so I’m going to have to bombard you with YouTube videos of these songs.  Sorry in advance.)

Format:  Arist~Song Title (Album Title)
1) Brad Paisley~Somebody Knows You Now (Mud on the Tires)

I love me some Brad Paisley.  Though I do enjoy his “sillier”, laidback songs (“I’m Gonna Miss H~r”, “Camouflage”, “Ticks”, “Online”, etc.), I generally love his “serious” songs more (all time favorite is “We Danced”, but I also love “Then” and “Letter to Me”, for example).  I’m surprised this one never made it as a single.  Also, there are two more BP songs since I love this guy so much.
Favorite lyrics:  “I can finish your thoughts / pick the right restaurants / even order for you ‘fore you sit down.” I love good wordplay!  🙂

2) Brad Paisley~Something About Her (???)

True story: this song was Trista & Ryan Sutter’s first dance song (of Bachelorette fame…they’re the original–and first–married couple from the show and they just celebrated their 10th anniversary!  Congrats Trista & Ryan!).  Before Brad Paisley was famous, he was commissioned to put a melody to the poem that Ryan read to Trista at Sea World.  I think this is the sweetest thing ever, and the melody’s so catchy!
Favorite lyrics:  “She’s every star that’s in the sky / every glimmer in my eye.” Really, though, the whole song is a win, because a guy that writes poetry just rocks in so many ways.

3) Brad Paisley~Time Well Wasted (Time Well Wasted)

Another “serious” Brad Paisley song that I love, with a wonderful message.
Favorite lyrics:  The entire freakin’ chorus.  Words to live by!  “It was time well wasted / and there’s no way I’d trade a few more dollars in my pocket that I could’ve spent / for a day that I’ll never forget / no, I didn’t get a thing done / but I sure soaked up every minute of the moment we were makin’ / and I count it all as time well wasted.”

4) Dream~How Long (It Was All a Dream)

Let’s move on to another group, shall we?  Do you remember the one (okay, two)-hit wonder that was Dream?  A girl group founded by Puff Daddy?  Better known for their singles “He Loves U Not” and “This is Me”?  If you don’t remember them, you’re probably not alone.  Blink and you miss them.  That being said, I was a very impressionable youth in 2001, and I snatched this album right up when it came out when I was in college.  I was ADDICTED to this particular track and would find myself singing it over and over again to myself as I walked between classes and sometimes in my head before I fell asleep, wondering where my true love was.
Favorite lyrics:  “I sit every night by my window just wishing / and searching for one perfect star”

5) Aaliyah~Turn the Page (Music of the Heart soundtrack)

Rest in peace, Aaliyah.  An enormous talent truly gone too soon.  I loved her voice and so many of her songs.  I have to admit I originally got this album because of *NSYNC’s contribution (yeah, I was THAT girl.  Shut up), but I fell in love with this song the moment I heard it, and it remains my very favorite song on this album.  Nice and introspective and somewhat haunting knowing this song could’ve been appropriately played at her memorial/funeral.
Favorite lyrics:  “When I look back, you’re everywhere / turn the page, you were there.”

6) Jessica Andrews~Fall Like the Rain (Ain’t That Life, unreleased album)

I’m a huge Jessica Andrews fan.  Most people know her for the single “Who I Am” (about being Rosemary’s granddaughter and such), but I also loved “Unbreakable Heart” and “There’s More to Me Than You”.  I was really bummed to find out that she had a falling out with her record company and hasn’t (to my knowledge) released another CD.  Back in the myspace days, I followed her page and saw that she had samples of an album that was never released.  This one just one of the many amazing songs on there.
Favorite lyrics:  “Fall like the rain, let it flow ’til we wash away / soaked in emotion, I drown in your touch.”

7) Jessica Andrews~Ain’t That Life (Ain’t That Life, unreleased album)


If I hadn’t mentioned it yet, this girl can saaaang!
Favorite lyrics:  “Roll the dice / it’s a comedy or tragedy / what a ride / it’s Shakespeare in the park / I love you whispered in the dark.”

…this nicely transitions into…

8) Sugarland~”Take Me as I Am” (Love on the Inside)

Man, this whole song is so amazing that I don’t know how it never became a single.  I love how, like “Ain’t That Life”, it paints such a great picture of environment.  Such an empowering song!
Favorite lyrics:  Probably some of my favorite lyrics of all time because it rings so true to who I am.  I strongly considered turning it into a tattoo or putting it on the cover of one of my journals.“Slow to trust, but I’m quick too love / I push too hard and I give too much / I ain’t saying I’m perfect, but I promise I’m worth it.”

9) Taylor Swift~”Untouchable” (bonus track on Fearless Platinum Edition album)

One of the few songs that Taylor didn’t write herself, this is a cover of a Luna Halo song.  I love both versions, but I think in this version you can hear the words better and the whole thing seems more poignant somehow.  I remember hitting replay several times after I heard it on the CD for the first time.  It’s catchy.
Favorite lyrics:  “In the middle of the night when I’m in this dream / it’s like a million little stars spelling out your name.”

Well, that’s all for today!  Have you guys heard any of these songs?  What’s on YOUR Songs from the Unknown list?  I’d love to know in the comments below.  And if you’re feeling nice, please follow Elizabeth’s blog.  Good karma and all.  That, and it really is an awesome blog to read!  🙂

To Bringing the Unknown into the Light!
Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

