Posted in Fashion Fridays

Fashion Friday: Feelin’ Fiona (Fine)

So I’m cheating a little bit on my “reaching out”/Link Ups for Lent series.   I found a link up for Thrift Style Thursdays, but there were a couple of problems for me.  First, it was a Thursday link up that clashed with the fact that I do fashion on Fridays.  That wasn’t such a big deal, because I figured I could use the prompt then link up the next day.  The second problem, and the (admittedly lazy) reason I chose not to formally link up, was because the link up’s rules involved sharing it on a Twitter account.

Confession time:  I don’t have a Twitter account.  Mostly, this is because I have a “dumb” phone (i.e., not a smartphone).  I love my phone, but it’s stuck in the past as far as cell phones go.  I do realize I can start an online Twitter account, and maybe I will one day, but I don’t really feel the need to do that just yet.

My solution was to use the Thrift Style Thursday prompts for my Friday inspiration, but not formally link up.

This Thursday’s link up prompt was “movie-inspired style”.  Honestly, that prompt couldn’t have been more perfect for my weekend plans!  There was a local production of Shrek the Musical here.  I’d seen it live a few years ago, and I enjoyed it enough that I wanted to share it with the hubby as an anniversary outing of sorts.*  Just for fun, I decided to give a little nod to Princess Fiona when I put together my sassy little outfit.

I combined elements from two different Fiona looks, as I love the combination of blue and green:


I’m not quite sure why I chose to do the ogre-version of Fiona in both these pictures.  She’s cute either way, though.  But ya know…true love’s form and all.  🙂

Here’s what I came up with:
101_4954 101_4956 101_4962

The breakdown:

101_4950

*blue sweater as a nod to her blue gown (Mossimo) //  *green dress as a nod to her green dress (Evan-Picone) // *green tights, not pictured (Merona)
101_4985 101_4988

*heart necklace (??? gifted) looks similar to her blue gown necklace // *headband (Target) suggests silver crown worn with her blue gown // *earrings with dragonflies on them (local bead store), as I think of fireflies when I think of a swamp for some reason

101_4957

*hair in side braid, a modification of Fiona’s hairstyle

My favorite part, though?  My Shrek-inspired nails.

101_4936 101_4943 101_4944

*green=Sinful Colors “Happy Ending” // *lime green=Sinful Colors “Innocent” // *light blue=Sinful Colors “Cinderella” // gold=Sally Hansen Lustre Shine “Firefly”

I love how the intersecting dot motif turned out!  The pattern reminds me of a sludge, so that’s a nod to Shrek and the swamp.  The green nails should be self-explanatory if you’ve seen anything Shrek-related.  The ring finger accent nail matches Fiona’s blue gown look, and the gold part, besides looking beautiful with blue, reminds me of the color of Fiona’s hair.

Who knew an ogre could be such a style inspiration?  🙂

*So when we got to the box office, it turned out that it was sold out for the day.  I was pretty bummed about it, but when we got home, we found the Broadway recording on Netflix.  We decided to visit a friend who was on bed rest after suffering injuries in a car accident and we all watched the movie together on her big, comfy bed.  It was kinda like a slumber party.  We ate cupcakes and chocolate and chips & salsa and chatted so much during the whole thing that it ended up being more background noise than anything else.  It was absolutely wonderful.  🙂

To Having an Ogre-the-Top (in a good way) Weekend!

Violet

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

