Posted in Friend Making Monday

Friend Makin’ Monday: Vacations

As much as I’ve loved starting out my “reaching out” project and stumbling upon new link ups this week, there’s definitely something to be said for taking comfort in what you know.

I forgot to say that I finally found a new “Pictures to Take” list for the year, which I will post as soon as I get the time.  I’m excited to start sharing new pictures with you starting next Monday!  Today I’m honestly just looking for something quick to do, and surveys are always good for that.

Let’s get started!

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

Sarah at losingweightandhavingfun.com has once again generously taken over FMM duties while Kenlie takes a little break, so thanks Sarah for keeping it going!

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Vacations

1. Where was the last place you went on vacation to?

Last year I did a cute little “Passport to Love” series with my husband.  It was my Christmas present for him.  Each month, we’d go to a different destination.  I go into more detail in other posts in my blog, but for now I’ll sum it up by saying I tried to recreate these locales and brought it to the town I live in.  So if I were to go off of that, my last vacation was to Russia in December 2013.  My last actual vacation was to Banff, Alberta last spring.  Hubs and I usually take a vacation shortly after our anniversary, so that was what we did last year.  It was absolutely stunning (I’m such a winter girl) and I would jump at the chance to go there again!

Banff 2

Just one of the breathtaking views from the top of Sulphur Mountain.

Banff ice skating

Ice skating on Lake Louise.  Ice skating ON A LAKE, guys!  And look at the view!  Loved.

Banff ice

The turquoise color of that ice is NOT Photoshopped.  In fact, this picture doesn’t do the saturated color of the ice block justice.  It was even more colorful than what this shows.

Banff Snow

Glorious, sparkly snow.

2. Do you have any plans for a vacation this year?

Yes.  This year we’re going to Arizona.  Planning on checking off one of the things on my bucket list (visit the Grand Canyon) and looking forward to seeing one of the world’s “Dark Parks” at the Owachomo Bridge in Utah.  I love stargazing!

This guys.  I’m going HERE.  So. Excited.

3. If money was no option, where would you dream vacation be?

It would be an epic vacation where I would check off all my places on my “Things to Do Before I Die” list, including the four-hemisphere stargazing and all the Seven Natural Wonders of the World.
If I were allowed to only pick one place, though, I would probably say Alaska during 24-hr sunlight or during prime viewing of the Northern Lights.  Or maybe the Italian countryside and use a luxurious B&B as an anchor while we went to explore.  It used to be CaisCais (pronounced kiss-kiss), but then I realized that would probably mean a tropical-like environment, and environments like that make me cranky (I know; I’m definitely in the minority).  Gosh, I don’t know now.  Sounds like a Pinterest project and a Thoughts on Thursday follow-up!  😉

4. What is your favorite vacation spot that you have visited?

Wow, it’s so hard to choose!  I’ve been to so many great places.  It’s funny.  I’ve been to many different countries, but those “foreign” places don’t rank at the top of my list.  I became very enamored by Banff, but I also loved Driving to the Sun Road in Montana (Glacier National Park) and the dunes on the coast of Oregon.  I also absolutely love the Poconos and surrounding areas in Pennsylvania, and Washington D.C. was also fun.
But my favorites (it’s a tie; I can’t choose) are near to home, only because of tradition.  There’s the property in the middle of the woods that I used to go camping with family and friends (it has since gotten developed) that is so relaxing to escape to, and then there’s a group of cabins by the beach that friends and family go camping for our wedding anniversary every year.  I think more than the place (which, both places are pretty); it’s the experiences you have in that vacation spot that make it a favorite.

Rites shadow play       Melt clear water

Shadow play in tent at camping property                       Beach near cabins where we spend each anniversary

5. Have you ever had a staycation?

Oh goodness, yes!  Staycations are the best!  😀  I guess I would say that the aforementioned Passport to Love project was a whole series of staycations, but even before that, we’ve done camping in our backyard, made pillow forts, and ordered yummy food in (or made our own) many times.

6. Are you a lie on the beach person or a go out and explore person?

Definitely, without a doubt, I’m a go out and explore person.  Especially when I’m at a place I’ve never been to, I want to fit in as many activities as I possibly can while I’m there.  I like to soak in local culture and explore things that are off the beaten path.  At the same time, once we get somewhere, I do like to savor the moment for awhile so I can remember it.  Like the Oregon dunes or the Rockies in Banff.  I stayed for a few hours just enjoying those once-in-a-lifetime experiences.

7. When you fly do you have a favorite airline?

I actually enjoy JetBlue, even though they only make short trips (as far as I know).  The seats seem to be bigger to me.  I also liked Asiana Airlines when we went to the Philippines.  The food was AMAZING (and free wine!), and I liked the games and things they offered on their little consoles.  It helped to pass the time on the long flight.

8. Have you ever had a ‘vacation from hell’ ?

I wouldn’t say it was “the vacation from hell”, because there were good moments.  It wasn’t the most recent time I went to the Philippines (with the awesome Asiana Airlines flight), but the time before that, when I was 14, I believe.  As soon as I got off the plane, I felt like I couldn’t breathe from the heat and the humidity.  I remember crying because I couldn’t get a good breath in.  Then I got attacked by mosquitoes.  Now, keep in mind, I have highly-sensitive skin, and anytime I get a mosquito bite, it swells up to be about 3 inches in diameter and 1 inch in height.  And I’m allergic to antihistamines.  It just makes the bite angry and swell up more.  So the bites I got landed me a trip to the ER.  I had all kinds of lotions and potions on me to help soothe it.  So yeah, that kinda sucked.

I did, however, enjoy seeing my extended family.  So there’s that.  But let’s just say I was hoping the next visit involved a more winter-like climate.  (Didn’t happen, but a girl can dream.)

9. Have you ever had an airline lose your luggage?

My luggage has been lost twice.  Once was during a Greyhound trip (there was a transfer and it got lost there), the other on an airline trip.  Both times, the luggage for was recovered, so I’m happy for that.  I don’t remember where I went for the airline lost luggage.  Either Germany or D.C.  I remember waiting at the baggage claim until all of the luggage had been picked up, and it wasn’t there.  So we left our names with the airport and we got a call a few days later saying it had accidentally boarded another flight and we got the luggage back.  I’m hoping I never lose my luggage for good.

10. Do you send postcards to friends and family when you go on vacation?

Being an “old school” writer (being that I always prefer pen and paper to a computer), I use any excuse to write something.  The funny thing is, too, that when I ask friends and family if they want any souvenirs, a postcard is always high on the priority list.  I often write postcards when I go on vacation, but on the ones that I don’t, I bring home a postcard.  Friends and family love seeing pictures of the sites we see.  I also love receiving postcards.  Nobody sends regular mail anymore.  I’d like to see a resurgence of that.  So much better than bills, that’s for sure!

To Taking a Wonderful, Relaxing Break!
Violet

One thought on “Friend Makin’ Monday: Vacations

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

