Posted in Friend Making Monday

Friend Makin’ Monday: Holiday Traditions

I would say top o’ the morning to everyone, but it’s actually more bottom o’ the evening right now, I guess. 🙂  Hope you all had a fun and safe St. Patrick’s Day!  It’s time for another Friend Makin’ Monday.  Sarah at Losing Weight and Having Fun has been taking over for awhile, so if you have a link up be sure to visit her blog and leave a comment with your own answers!

Let’s get to it!

friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

Holiday Traditions.

1. Do you celebrate St Patrick’s Day?

You know, I don’t remember celebrating it when I was a kid, but for some reason (and I don’t know when) we started celebrating it more as of late.  For at least the last ten years there has been corned beef and cabbage.  Hubby and I coincidentally also had our rehearsal dinner on St. Patrick’s Day, so we made the most of it and decorated with St. Paddy’s day décor and gave out St. Paddy’s cards to all our out-of-town guests.  Lots of fun.  That being said, we didn’t do anything this year to celebrate except for wear green.
St Pat Cake

Our rehearsal dinner cake–six years ago today!

 

2. Which is your favorite holiday to celebrate?

New Year’s Eve.  More about that for question #8.  My second-favorite holiday, even when I was single, was Valentine’s Day.  I love hearts and flowers and chocolate and showing love, so this is a wonderful day for me!

3. Do you have a favorite ‘holiday’ food?

Is it weird that I have more than one?  It’s so that I have to almost go holiday by holiday, but I love raspberry heart Peeps, corned beef & cabbage, deviled eggs, baked BBQ beams, butternut squash soup, pumpkin pie, Brussels sprouts, monkey bread, maja blanca, and embutido (last two are Filipino foods that we eat at Christmas).
Mmmm…hungry now.
105_1707
So so so yummy!  I’ve only seen it last year, but I really hope they bring it back.  Seasonal Valentine’s Day thing.

4. What do you think of holiday parades?

We have a couple of parades around here celebrating spring, and both of them are a lot of fun.  Oh!  And I’ve also been to a Santa parade that I completely forgot about until now.  Also fun.  🙂  I’m not sure I’d do so well in a super-crowded Christmas or Thanksgiving parade, though.  I’d probably just rather stay at home and watch them on TV, like the Macy’s parades.

5. Have you ever been part of a parade?

Yes!  Just last year I was part of a parade at the fair.  We did a Flash Mob and it was great fun!

6. Do you decorate your house for the holidays?

Abso-freakin’-lutely!  I love decorating for holidays and now that I’m a homeowner I do it even more often.  This year we went all out for Halloween, complete with inflatable light up things in the front and fog machines.  Christmas is always a wonderful decorating time, too.  But the last couple years  I also decorated for Thanksgiving and Valentine’s Day.  I was going to decorate for St. Patrick’s Day, too, but I never found the time to.  I’m fully planning on decorating for spring/Easter.  Can’t wait!

Valentine themed mantel

My Valentine’s-themed mantel.

7. Do you send holiday cards?

Yes!  I love doing it, because it’s so much more fun to send those out and hear how people enjoyed them versus bills.  It’s a nice little surprise.  I’m also good at sending out thank you cards.  Then again, I was an assistant manager for about six years at a high-end card store (like the Nordstrom’s of Hallmark, if you will), so I’m a bit biased.

8. Are there any holidays that you celebrate that are traditional in another country, but maybe less well known in the US?

A couple.  The one that I talked about earlier, New Year’s Eve, is celebrate MUCH differently in the Philippines than it is in the U.S., but that’s part of the reason I love the holiday so much.  In the Philippines it is steeped in superstitions and symbolism, and we observe a lot, if not all of them.  One that we do that’s not listed in the link is that we fill all of our “food containers” (rice, sugar, flour, etc.) so that we have a full new year.
New Years Eve 2014
Rockin’ the polka dots, a symbol of prosperity for the new year.

I also celebrate St. Nicholas Day, previously because we lived in Germany for a time, but also because my hubby’s mother is German.  We’ve used this day as “Christmas” with my hubby’s side of my family, then we do Christmas with my family, so it’s kinda a big deal.  We go all out with the spekulaas and leaving gifts in boots.  It’s a great time.

238 242

To Your Own Special Celebrations,
Violet

One thought on “Friend Makin’ Monday: Holiday Traditions

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

