Posted in Ta-Da! Tuesdays

Ta-Da! Tuesday: Make a Wish

While I’ve done quite a few crafts in the last several months, my lack of posting them on my blog, and more specifically lack of posting what’s on my original craft-to-do-list , makes it look as if I’ve not done much at all.  So I guess it’s time to get caught up.   This June was an amazing little girl’s 4th birthday party.  Quite frankly, I love this girl (she’s my friend’s daughter) because she has so many endearing qualities:  she loves to read, she’s creative, she’s sassy, she’s intelligent, she’s caring, and she’s brave.  She’s not afraid to just burst out into a song and dance routine.  One day, when I have a kid, I can only hope she’ll be like her.   She’s like most girly-girls her age, loving sparkles and puffy tutu-skirted dresses, pretending to be a princess and throw tea parties.  She also loves making wishes.   There is one particular memory I have of her:  picking up a dandelion with the utmost care, as if it were fragile china.  She blows on it gently, saying that those wishes were very valuable!   I kept this memory in mind as her birthday approached, and decided to make her a necklace of wishes and glitter and purple (her–and my–favorite color).  To go with it, I made a birthday card with a dandelion on it; the stem being the real stem of the special dandelion I picked for her necklace: 101_6493 101_6495 Being someone who isn’t much of an artist, I’m proud of how this turned out.  I looked up a tutorial online (which unfortunately I can’t find now, otherwise I’d link to it) and did many drafts beforehand.   Then came the necklace!  I looked up tutorials online, but nothing quite fit exactly what I wanted to do, so I did a hybrid of sorts.  Here’s what I did, in pictures:

101_6491
Step #1: Find a nice, magical-looking dandelion. One that you think can grant lots of wishes. Pick it and put it immediately into a Ziploc bag to prevent any wishes from blowing away. Put seeds into a container with lid.
101_6497
Step #2: Gather all your supplies. I have a washer, nail polish, Sharpie, glass bottle charm, loose crystals/rhinestones, ribbon necklace chain, and chopsticks or pen.
101_6496
Step #3: Paint the washer whatever color you wish with nail polish or acrylic paints.
101_6501
Step #4: Very carefully, put one wish into the glass bottle. If you like the way that looks, keep it like that.
101_6505
Step #5: If you want extra bling, add glitter, confetti, or like I did, loose crystals.
101_6509
Step #6: Add more wishes, if preferred. When you get your desired look, roll cork in super glue and put on top to secure the seal.
101_6512
Step #7: Admire your work and take copious pictures to document your awesome craftiness.
101_6516
Step #8: When one side of the washer is dry, write what you want on the other side (or paint that side as well and let dry). Thread through or attach to ribbon chain, along with your glass bottle of wishes.
101_6517
Finished product, far away.
101_6520
Finished product, close up on charms.

Step #9:  Give away as gift, or gift it to yourself!  🙂   I loved the way it looked so much, and have enough materials leftover, that I may make one for myself!  The beautiful thing about this necklace is that it spans ages.  It’s just as fun for a thirty-two-year-old as a four-year-old. What was the result, you ask?  She loved it.  After she opened all her presents, the first thing she asked was to put on her necklace so she could make some birthday wishes.  And also, it matched her pretty purple birthday princess outfit so well.  And then she proceeded to go play in the mud.   Have I told you yet how much I want my daughter to be like this little lady???  🙂

To Never Being Too Old to Wish on a Dandelion!

Violet

 

Share Your Thoughts: Check!

